Today’s KDD: “$1.99 & up, books made into movies and TV shows”

Today’s KDD: “$1.99 & up, books made into movies and TV shows”

Today’s

Kindle Daily Deal (at AmazonSmile…benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

is on books which were made into movies or TV shows.

I read a lot of books, but I also watch a lot of movies and TV shows (sometimes I do both simultaneously).

I’d rather read a book before I see the movie, because my favorite thing in entertainment is to be surprised. They are very different experiences, but the broad strokes of the book’s plot may appear in the movie, potentially ruining that surprise. I don’t find that a book ruins a movie for me…movies tend to be less about the plot for me, and more about the characters and visual look.

Part of that, I think, as I’ve mentioned before, is that I don’t tend to visualize or hear voices when I read books. That means that somebody can’t “look wrong” for me when I see the movie, as long as their appearance matches the discrete facts mentioned in the book…for example, someone might be described as a redhead. I would notice if they had brown hair instead…but I would probably be okay with it.🙂 I’m not that visually oriented altogether.

I suppose I’m like how a lot of software would approach it in that way. I don’t project from someone being a redhead what their ears or torso look like.🙂

On the other hand, if someone behaves in a way I feel is out of character, that can really jar me. I think I’m probably as empathetic as most readers…I just don’t do it visually (or, I guess, auditorially).

I do think that movies and TV shows lead people to read books. I would never suggest that the right thing to do is to read the book first every time…it’s going to vary.

I like having books like this in our library, especially for guests. Somebody who has seen a movie or TV show might read the book when on a vacation…and that might inspire more future reading, from other books in the series, genre, or by that author.

Before we get into today’s books, I’ll link you to an article I coincidentally flipped into the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard this morning:

BOOKRIOT: “CWildONFESSIONS OF A RECOVERING BOOK-TO-FILM ADAPTATION SNOB by Carolina Ciucci”

This line makes me…um, unsympathetic to Ciucci:

“Even when I do watch the film, I’m typically that annoying person making snarky comments under her breath until everyone in the theatre wants to feed me the d*mn book and choke me.”

While that wouldn’t make me want to choke somebody, I’m not happy with anybody who makes comments I can hear in a movie theatre…about anything, really, but especially about the movie itself.

That’s an interesting point: I like to see movies in a movie theatre with an enthusiastic crowd, yelling and gasping together…but I don’t want them talking. Hm…

Check the price before you click or tap the Buy button…for one thing, prices may not apply in your country.

Books in today’s sale include:

  • The Girl with All the Gifts by M.R. Carey (releasing September 23rd this year with Glenn Close and Gemma Arterton)
  • Wild by Cheryl Strayed (Oscar nominated movie in 2014 starring Reese Witherspoon)
  • The Longest Ride by Nicholas Sparks (2015 movie with Scott Eastwood)
  • Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen (2011 movie with Robert Pattinson…and Reese Witherspoon again)
  • Orange & Black by Piper Kerman (hit Netflix series 2013-)
  • Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell (note that this one, while it was optioned, has not been made into a movie yet. From what I’m seeing, it’s not actually in active development)
  • Call the Widwife by Jennifer Worth (TV series with Vanessa Redgrave 2012-)
  • Lone Survivor by Marcus Luttrell (2013 movie with Mark Wahlberg)
  • The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick (Amazon series 2015-)
  • The Cold Dish (Longmire) by Craig Johnson (Robert Taylor/Katee Sackhoff/Lou Diamond TV series)
  • The Lincoln Lawyer by Michael Connelly (2011 Matthew McConaughey movie)
  • Bridget Jones’ Diary by Helen Fielding (2001 movie with Renee Zellweger/Colin Firth/Hugh Grant…there have been sequels)
  • The Godfather by Mario Puzo (1972 movie with Marlon Brando)
  • The Walking Dead by Robert Kirkman (AMC TV series)
  • 16 Lighthouse Road by Debbie Macomber (Cedar Cove TV series 2013-2015)
  • A Tale of Love and Darkness by Amos Oz (2015 movie with Natalie Portman)

I would guess there are literally thousands of books in the Kindle store which have been made into movies or TV shows…and I could list many more. The ones above are on sale today, though. Quite a few are also available at no additional cost to

Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

members.

Here are some others:

  • Harry Potter (KU)
  • The Hunger Games (KU)
  • Lord of the Rings (KU)
  • I Am Legend
  • The Maltese Falcon
  • The Wizard of Oz (free to own, and many other editions)
  • Me Before You
  • Wuthering Heights (free to own, and many other editions)
  • Pride and Prejudice (free to own, and many other editions)
  • Sherlock Holmes (much of it is free to own, and many other editions)

Enjoy!

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

All aboard our new The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project! Do you have what it takes to be a Timeblazer?

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

Leave a Reply

