Today’s KDD: “Up to 80% off readers’ top nonfiction picks”

Today’s KDD: “Up to 80% off readers’ top nonfiction picks”

Today’s

Kindle Daily Deal (at AmazonSmile…benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

is “Up to 80% off readers’ top nonfiction picks”.

I love reading non-fiction! Of course, I’m sure that some regular readers think I’m a pretty non-discriminating reader.😉 Yes, I do tend to find something good in every book I read, but I don’t like them all equally.

There has certainly been some (a lot) of fiction that has really affected me and that I’ve really enjoyed…the Oz books and the Doc Savage books are obvious ones, but there are so many.

At least equally, though, there has been much non-fiction. It’s a guess, but it’s possible I’ve read more non-fiction than fiction, but I’m not at all sure. Might be more true as an adult…

For me, that has been many kinds of non-fiction. Science? Sure. Pop culture reference? Definitely. Human cognition and behavior patterning? You betcha…that fits into my “day job”. Biographies? Current events? Yep and yep.🙂 Word origins and odd words? One of my favorites!

Today’s mix is an interesting one, and with some good deals for sure. Remember that you can buy the book on sale and delay the delivery until the appropriate gift-giving occasion, or print it out and wrap it and give it whenever you want. What happens if your recipient already has it (you know, because they might read ILMK, too?)😉 ? They can get store credit instead.

Check the price before you click or tap that Buy button: these prices may not apply in your country (and I have readers around the world), and at least in the past, books have “sold out”.

  • Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind by Yuval Noah Harari | 4.5 stars out of 5| 2,202 customer reviews at time of writing | $4.99
  • Lab Girl by Hope Jahren
  • The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot (it has been a great disappointment to me that the publisher, Random House, continue to block text-to-speech access** on this title. I’d like to read it, but for myself and my family, we don’t buy books where the publisher has made that decision. Publishers have changed that position before, and I think this one was probably blocked back when Random House was routinely blocking ((they don’t routinely do that any more)))
  • This Time Together: Laughter and Reflection by Carol Burnett
  • The Hard Thing About Hard Things by Ben Horowitz
  • Etched in Sand by Regina Calcaterra | 4.7 star | 2,071 reviews
  • Red Platoon: A True Story of American Valor by Clinton Romesha
  • How to Fail at Almost Everything and Still Win Big… by Scott Adams
  • NeuroTribes: The Legacy of Autism and the Future of… by Steve Silberman
  • Yes, Chef: A Memoir by Marcus Samuelsson
  • Leaders Eat Last: Why Some Teams Pull Together and… by Simon Sinek
  • A New Earth (Oprah #61): Awakening to Your Life’s… by Eckhart Tolle
  • Notorious RBG: The Life and Times of Ruth Bader… by Irin Carmon
  • The More of Less: Finding the Life You Want Under… by Joshua Becker
  • My Story by Elizabeth A. Smart
  • Peaceful Parent, Happy Kids: How to Stop Yelling… by Laura Markham
  • Hope: A Memoir of Survival in Cleveland by Amanda Berry
  • Crazy Horse and Custer: The Parallel Lives of Two… by Stephen Ambrose
  • In Defense of Food: An Eater’s Manifesto by Michael Pollan
  • Bare Bones: I’m Not Lonely If You’re Reading This Book by Bobby Bones
  • The Art of Loving by Erich Fromm
  • The 15:17 to Paris: The True Story of a Terrorist… by Anthony Sadler
  • I Swear I’ll Make It Up to You: A Life on the Low Road by Mishka Shubaly
  • Spare Parts: Four Undocumented Teenagers, One Ugly… by Joshua Davis
  • Do No Harm: Stories of Life, Death, and Brain Surgery by Henry Marsh
  • Journal of a Solitude: The Journals of Mary Sarton by May Sarton
  • Things No One Will Tell Fat Girls: A Handbook for… by Jes Baker
  • Unwasted: My Lush Sobriety by Sacha Z. Scoblic
  • The Lost Tribe of Coney Island: Headhunters, Luna… by Claire Prentice
  • Murder in Little Egypt: The True Story of a… by Darcy O’Brien
  • Agony and Eloquence: John Adams, Thomas Jefferson… by Daniel L. Mallock

Enjoy!

By the way, I’m looking to put together a post on books for the last year, and I thought one way to do it would be to ask you to tell me books you found through ILMK (wouldn’t have to be published in 2016…just that you found it through ILMK in 2016). You could have been very familiar with it, but got it on sale or as a gift for somebody. I’m torn, because that feels a bit self-serving, but I do think we are a community in a way, and I want what has affected you so it will help others. Deals are often for a very limited time (like a single day, like today), so I don’t want people to miss it. If you have stories that fit, “I Found It through ILMK”, or other comments for me or my readers, feel free to let me know by commenting on this post.

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

All aboard our new The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

** A Kindle with text-to-speech can read any text downloaded to it…unless that access is blocked by the publisher inserting code into the file to prevent it. That’s why you can have the device read personal documents to you (I’ve done that). I believe that this sort of access blocking disproportionately disadvantages the disabled, although I also believe it is legal (provided that there is at least one accessible version of each e-book available, however, that one can require a certification of disability). For that reason, I don’t deliberately link to books which block TTS access here (although it may happen accidentally, particularly if the access is blocked after I’ve linked it). I do believe this is a personal decision, and there  are legitimate arguments for purchasing those books. 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

4 Responses to “Today’s KDD: “Up to 80% off readers’ top nonfiction picks””

  1. rogerknights Says:

    Well, I just ordered “How to Fail at Almost Everything and Still Win Big” by Scott Adams, which you listed above, so that’s one! I’m sure there were others.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, rogerknights!

      I really appreciate that! I’m hoping I get more responses…if not, I’ll abandon that idea for a post.

  2. Lady Galaxy Says:

    One of the books I picked up about a month ago was “Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a family and Culture in Crisis” which had been on my wish list for awhile. You featured it when Amazon had a daily deal for memoirs. I can really identify with the family history of having grandparents move out of Appalachia to a factory town. While telling the story of his life, he gives insight to what has happened to our country as the economy has shifted away from factory jobs leaving behind many, many towns where no comparable paying jobs moved in to replace them. It is currently in the running for best memoir & autobiography at Goodreads.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      Excellent! Good example. I’ve heard quite a bit about the book, but haven’t read it…yet.🙂

Leave a Reply

