Today’s KDD: e-textbook sale

Today’s KDD: e-textbook saleI’ve been loving Amazon’s

Kindle Daily Deal (at AmazonSmile…benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

this year! 2017 has seen so many discounts on well-known books for what I call “piece buyers” (people who buy one book at a time, as opposed to buying access through something like Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*) or using Prime Reading (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)).

It used to be that the KDD was just four books, then it went to six…and this year, it could be tens of books on a theme.

Today, for example, there are 139 (!) titles. An Amazon alert told me this was an e-textbook sale, but you don’t need to be an academic to read many of these. 😉 In fact, I don’t know how many professors would assign “The Carsons of Mustang Creek” series of romances. 😉

There are definitely books which I would consider traditional textbooks (and some of them are a lot more, even discounted, than the $5 or less we typically see in a KDD).

I’m just going to list a few, but it’s certainly worth checking out this sale…remember that you can also buy them as gifts, either delaying delivery or having them sent to yourself and then printing them out.

Also, check the price before you click, tap, or eye gaze (the last one when you are in virtual reality) that Buy button…the sale may not apply in your country:

  • The Lean Six Sigma Pocket Toolbook: A Quick Reference Guide to Nearly 100 Tools for Improving Quality and Speed by Michael George and John Maxey
  • Strategies of Containment: A Critical Appraisal of American National Security Policy during the Cold War by John Lewis Gaddis
  • The Moral Imagination: The Art and Soul of Building Peace by John Paul Lederach
  • When Languages Die: The Extinction of the World’s Languages and the Erosion of Human Knowledge (Oxford Studies in Sociolinguistics) by K David Harrison

Enjoy!

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

All aboard our new The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project! Join the TMCGTT Timeblazers!

* When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the The Measured Circle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

6 Responses to “Today’s KDD: e-textbook sale”

  1. Lady Galaxy Says:

    I picked up “When Languages Die,” “The Courage to Teach,” and “Basic Spanish.” I took 3 years of Spanish in HS, but that was a very long time ago. I thought this book might help me brush up my Spanish skills.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      I also got When Languages Die…as a gift for our now adult kid, who is a linguist. I was aware of the rapid and common deaths of languages, through our kid’s work. It can be quite appalling. Powerful governments that fear citizen unrest may, for example, actually make it illegal to speak indigenous languages (to avoid plotting and to force more assimilation). That’s one path to endangering a language.

      I used to speak Spanish conversationally (not fluently), but haven’t for years. I can still generally get the gist of a news article in Spanish, though.

  2. Phyllis Simpson Says:

    This is the latest blog I have received. When will they have the problem fixed. Phyllis Simpson

  3. Phyllis Simpson Says:

    I tried but it kicked me off. I even renewed my subscription. Maybe they will get it fixed someday. Phylis Simpson

Leave a Reply

