Kindle blogs at Amazon.com

Kindle blogs at Amazon.com

It’s been quite a while since I posted about

Blogs at Amazon.com (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

Oh, I track how many there are every month, as part of the Snapshots, but I think I last wrote about the top ten blogs in late 2014.

You can get a free trial subscription for 14 days, and you can choose to subscribe. For example, subscribing to this blog is $0.99 a month. I’m thankful for my subscribers! Some of them have been with me since the beginning, back in 2009, and it definitely makes a difference. Thanks, subscribers!

Okay, here are the top ten (out of 15,985) at time of writing:

  1. Free Kindle Books and Tips by Michael Gallagher
  2. The New York Times – Latest News
  3. Free Books OnKindle
  4. Huffington Post
  5. Free books for Kindle
  6. Two Minute Conservative
  7. Taki’s Magazine
  8. LRC Blog
  9. National Review: Articles
  10. Kindle Nation Daily

12. I Love My Kindle

Looking through the next blogs, there are actually several blogs that appear to be at least focused on free books for your Kindle. I can’t argue about that too much, since that was the title of my first book. 😉

Michael Gallagher’s blog was also #1 in 2014…and had been the previous time as well.

Some of these look new to me.

It’s worth noting Stephen Windwalker’s Kindle Nation Daily: I believe it may be the longest-lived Kindle-focused blog at Amazon.com.

In terms of ratings/reviews, Michael Gallagher does have 3.9 stars out of 5 with 162 customer reviews, which is quite good. I’m proud that ILMK has 4.2 stars with 41 reviews. It’s the only blog in the top twenty with at least 10 reviews and 4 or more stars.

In terms of my other two blogs:

221B Blog Street (the adventures of Holmes and Watson…one chapter at a time!) (at AmazonSmile*)

It’s highest listing is #726 in Arts & Entertainment Kindle blogs. 🙂

It does have a perfect 5-star rating…but with only two reviews.

I never expected it to be very popular, but I really like that it recreates in  a sense the way that Holmes & Watson were originally published…serialized. I only do the public domain stories, and do them in order…once chapter or short story a day.

When I’ve gone through the set, I do publish my Holmes parody, which is four posts. I’m proud of that one, too. 🙂 I wanted to submit it for an Edgar, but I think I was too late that year. It’s a modernized Holmes & Watson…and I did do it before the Cumberbatch version. 🙂

It’s not hard for me to do (I just have to keep cycling the publication dates of the posts…two weeks takes me maybe five minutes), and there are some people who like it.

The Measured Circle

Nobody’s ever reviewed TMC at Amazon.com, but I do get comments and retweets, so I know it is read at to some extent.

I really like doing it: it’s eclectic. I’d say the main focus has become geeky entertainment. I do also write about robotics and other tech there from time to time, and I’m about to start writing more often about Virtual/Augmented/Mixed/Merged Reality.

It’s also the branding and heart of  The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project. They’ve really been improving The History Project (having major backers doesn’t hurt, I’m sure), and I do think there’s a possibility it could “break” this year. I’ve been working on it, too.

It’s highest ranking is #98 in Kindle Blogs – Humor & Satire…and #306 in Kindle Blogs – Arts & Entertainment, putting it considerably above 221B Blog Street.

I’ll mention one more:

A Kindle World

That’s Andrys Basten’s blog, 4.1 stars with 10 reviews.

Andrys has done some of the best writing about the Kindle, with surprising technical information and insightful thoughts.

A paid subscription to a Kindle store blog means that you can have it delivered to your EBR (E-Book Reader) automatically…I think some of my readers read their blogs before they get out of bed or at night before sleeping.

That’s it! If you have any blogs to suggest to me and my readers, or other thoughts you would like to share, feel free to comment on this post.

Join thousands of readers and try the free The Measured Circle magazine at Flipboard !

All aboard our new The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project! Join the TMCGTT Timeblazers!

When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the The Measured Circle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

 

8 Responses to “Kindle blogs at Amazon.com”

  1. Tammy R. Says:

    I love your blogs. I always look forward to getting the new issues on my Kindle Oasis. I subscribed to The Measured Circle, but it quit updating from Amazon back in Sept. It says the latest issue available is in Sept. If I unsubscribe and renew my subscription, there aren’t any new issues available past Sept. I’d love to start getting this blog again. I called Amazon, but they said that’s the latest issue they have as well. Any suggestions would be appreciated. :))) Thank you!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Tammy!

      Thanks for the kind words!

      That is so frustrating to hear…and I’m really grateful that you told me! I feel guilty I haven’t checked the delivery of TMC on my own device in months, so was unaware of it. Nothing has changed in how TMC is updated…it’s the same as ILMK and 221B Blog Street. I’ll check with Amazon.

      If you’d like me to send you an e-mail with links to the posts you’ve missed, I could put that together for you. You can also read them here:

      https://measuredcircle.wordpress.com/

      I plan to start writing about Virtual/Augmented/Merged/Mixed reality in TMC this weekend, and I’m happy with the direction of a couple of other elements there for 2017. I’m tracking “Geeky Good-Byes” in a different way which will allow more coverage of related celebrity deaths, for example.

      Let me know if you start getting it again on your Kindle in the next several days (they may not get my communication until Monday, or maybe Tuesday because of the holiday).

      Thanks for being a subscriber!

      • Tammy Rea Says:

        Thank you for your offer of sending me the back issues of TMC. I’m totally fine with reading them at your website until the backlog of the Kindle issue clears, though. Hopefully, Amazon will get the problem sorted quickly. I’ll let you know when the delivery resumes on my Oasis. I’m looking forward to reading about your upcoming topics. They sound interesting. 🙂 Thank you, again. :))

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Tammy!

        I have informed Amazon…not quite sure when they will act on it, given the holiday, but that has worked in the past.

        Thanks again for alerting me!

  2. Wes Henson Says:

    Bufo. Thanks for your blog. I enjoy your insights and the variety. I find it hard to see how the NY times latest headlines blog is number 2 in popularity since it can’t be subscribed to by any of the Kindle fires. I used to read it in my Kindle 3. Would enjoy reading it on my Kindle fire.nwhy do you think it is unavailable? Wes

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Wes!

      It’s because all of the competition has that same limitation. 🙂 We Kindle bloggers have found it frustrating that Amazon does not have a way for our tablet (and phone and computer) using customers to subscribe to our blogs through the Kindle store…at least, I know that’s true of a few of us who have discussed the issue. That’s been the case since they started selling the blog subscriptions.

      So, in a race of three-wheeled wagons, a three-wheeled wagon is going to come in second. 😉

  3. Erwin Osborn Says:

    I have not received an issue of 2211B Blog Street since November 2

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Erwin!

      So, unfortunately, the game’s not afoot, so to speak. 😦

      I’ve informed Amazon…hopefully, I’ll hear (and you’ll see) something soon.

Leave a Reply

