A great Google Chrome extension for eReaderIQ

A great Google Chrome extension for eReaderIQ

I have often referred to

eReaderIQ

as the best resource for Kindleers on the web.

I’m not associated with the site, although we have had e-mail correspondence (just as a user making suggestions).

They have a number of free services:

  • You can track a Kindle store book to see when it drops in price an amount you specify
  • You can track an author
  • You can be notified when a book first becomes available for the Kindle
  • You can search the Kindle store in a much more sophisticated way that Amazon gives you

Well, I was excited to see that there is a new “extension” for the Google Chrome web browser!

This is a free little program that you add to Chrome, and when you are on a Kindle store book page, it brings some of the functionality of eReaderIQ into your Kindle store experience.

My favorite thing is that I can see the price tracking.

It’s possible they’ll give me permission to post a screenshot here (or send me one…I haven’t contacted them yet), but I’d suggest you try it yourself (it’s free).

What this means is that I can see if a book has ever been on sale before, and when. That can help you guess if it might go on sale again…no guarantee, but if it goes on sale periodically, that can be an indicator (as can be if it never goes on sale).

You can also choose to track it right there…very convenient. 🙂

The easiest way to get it is to be in Chrome, and go to

https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/ereaderiq-integrator/epjfabiijflnfmjjhanhddglfhokheae

Alternatively, go to the Chrome Web Store and search for eReaderIQ (it’s called eReaderIQ Integrator).

Enjoy!

Join thousands of readers and try the free The Measured Circle magazine at Flipboard !

All aboard our new The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project! Join the TMCGTT Timeblazers!

When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) By the way, it’s been interesting lately to see Amazon remind me to “start at AmazonSmile” if I check a link on the original Amazon site. I do buy from AmazonSmile, but I have a lot of stored links I use to check for things.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the The Measured Circle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

9 Responses to “A great Google Chrome extension for eReaderIQ”

  1. Edward Boyhan Says:

    Interesting, though not for me but: All my production machines are on Windows 10 where I have decided to only use Microsoft’s new Edge browser. Edge browser extensions are technically implemented in a very similar fashion to Chrome extensions — so maybe this extension will come to Edge someday.

    OTOH, the only thing I can see of interest to me is the ability to track an author, but Amazon already has a “Follow” button for any of the author’s selling through their site. I use this to great effect to pre-order upcoming titles from favorite authors. If I bought much from other sites (not so much lately), I might find eReaderIQ more interesting.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Edward!

      I’ve used Edge, but it has a fatal flaw for me: it doesn’t remember previous sessions so I can go back to them. I thought that maybe when they let us pin the tabs they would persist in the event of a crash, but apparently not. There is a Chrome extension (One Tab) which makes it so much more valuable. I’d like to use Edge, but I’d also like that to be at least as good as other browsers I’ve used. They have improved it, but it’s missing a mission critical factor for me.

      eReaderIQ had the tracking of authors long before Amazon, I believe. It was nice when the e-tailer added it. 🙂 For me, I’m very interested in the price data…but I do like data generally.

  2. Edward Boyhan Says:

    I’m not sure what you mean by remembering previous sessions. My browsing style tends to keep a lot of tabs open (I often have over 90 tabs open at one time). Other browsers don’t handle this as well as Edge.

    Edge does have the ability to open with the previous session’s tabs (you set this in Edge settings). I’ve been using Edge for almost two years now, and I don’t think I can remember a single instance when the browser crashed.

    With so many tabs open though, Edge does tend to get a bit creaky. I will occasionally restart my computer (takes about a minute in W10), or kill Edge from the task manager, and then restart Edge. Either will preserve open tabs on restart, and will rebuild internal memory structures so that the creakiness goes away.

    Never close Edge by hitting the “X” in the upper right corner of the window — as this will cause all open tabs to close losing what you were working on.

    In my experience Chrome has been a bit less stable with lots of open tabs, and it does crash. It also has the ability to restart with the previous session’s open tabs, but it occasionally loses them. On my few Chrome machines I also use the OneTab extension. I also use an extension called “Tabs Outliner” which is more of a session manager as it keeps a history of every past Chrome session (including crashed ones), and what tabs were open in that session. You can then drag & drop tabs from previous sessions into the current session or just double click on any past tab to reopen it — very handy.

    Technically, Edge extensions are virtually carbon copies of the same extension in Chrome. However, they must be published in the MS app store, and I suspect that MS is heavily curating extensions at the start (there are currently only about 20 Edge extensions). Also extension developers might not want to incur the cost of supporting an extension for a browser that has only a small user base.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Edward!

      Edge sometimes remembers the previous tabs, sometimes it doesn’t for me. If it doesn’t, I can’t simply select something to restore a previous session (which I can in other browser I use…Maxthon does a particular good job of this, letting me even pick from multiple sessions). More than once, I have to re-open a series of tabs manually in Edge…like you, I often have a number of tab open (not 90, but twenty or so). I’ll try that Tabs Outliner…that sounds like what Maxthon does natively.

  3. Edward Boyhan Says:

    In the upcoming W10 creators update, there are a couple of new features targeting open tabs. One is the ability to pull down a scrollable window that you can browse to see what all your open tabs actually are. In addition there is a feature that will allow you to set aside all open non-pinned tabs for later. Buttons are provided to show you what tabs are set aside and to bring them back. Presently this seems to be an all or nothing thing — I would like to see the ability to set aside and recall specific tabs.

    There are many stability and performance improvements in the creators Edge — as well as the ability to import virtually the whole state (favorites, downloads, browsing history, saved passwords, etc.) from other browsers.

    So you might want to give Edge another try when the creators update comes out (sometime in April).

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Edward!

      Oh, I do use Edge…I typically keep Edge, Chrome, and Maxthon all open on my home laptop. I find using Alt-Tab to switch between two open browsers the most efficient way to write something and flip back and forth between something I’m referencing…the results of an Amazon search, for example. So, I’ll see what happens in April. 🙂

      What I want is the ability to just go back to where I was before after a crash…if I had twenty tabs open, I want to be able to have all those open again.

  4. Top Kindle bestsellers have all been on sale recently | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] A great Google Chrome extension for eReaderIQ […]

  5. Chrome extension tells you if that Kindle book is in your public library | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] A great Google Chrome extension for eReaderIQ […]

  6. Tom Semple Says:

    Note that with recent changes to Amazon Wish List, it is no longer possible to import these to eReaderIQ. One has to manage Watch List one item at a time, either at eReaderIQ.com or with the browser extension for Chrome.

    An unwelcome ‘regression’ in functionality of Wish Lists is that there is no longer a Filter for ‘items with price drops’. I still have this functionality on my Fire tablet, but it is a little baffling that Amazon would remove a useful feature like this.

Leave a Reply

