Answers to the titles/band names which came from books quiz

Titles/band names which came from books: a quiz

I recently posted a quiz:

Titles/band names which came from books: a quiz

If you want to try it yourself, go there first; I’m about to post the answers!

Each of these are quotations where I knew the source before I knew the work which used it…

  1. Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury
    1. Source: Macbeth by William Shakespeare
  2. Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger
    1. Source: The Tyger by William Blake (AKA Tiger, Tiger…”burning bright”)
  3. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
    1. Source: The Tempest by William Shakespeare (I could probably have done an entire game based on “Billy the Bard” allusions) 😉
  4. Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert Heinlein
    1. Source: The Bible, specifically Exodus
  5. The Dogs of War by Frederick Forsyth
    1. Source: Julius Caesar, again by Shakespeare
  6. The Doors (the name of the band…and the origin of the name of the book on which the band name was based)
    1. Source: It’s a shortening of “The Doors of Perception” by Aldous Huxley…which is, in itself, quoting William Blake’s (Blake, again) The Marriage of Heaven and H*ll
  7. The band Steppenwolf
    1. Source: (Der) Steppenwolf by Herman Hesse
  8. The band Veruca Salt
    1. Source: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl (Veruca is the spoiled one who wants it now)
  9. As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner
    1. Source: The Odyssey by Homer
  10. For Whom the Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemingway
    1. Source: Devotions Upon Emergent Occasions, Meditation XVII by John Donne. The poem also includes the line “No man is an island”

There you go! How many did you know? If I posted a comment where you guessed and you would like my e-book of quotations (and you are in a country which can get a gift from the USA Kindle store), just let me know. If you already have the book, you can let Amazon know and they’ll give you store credit instead…

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

All aboard our new The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

7 Responses to “Answers to the titles/band names which came from books quiz”

  1. Lady Galaxy Says:

    “Devotions Upon Emergent Occasions, Meditation XVII by John Donne.” No wonder I couldn’t remember the title.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      🙂

      I think a lot of people refer to it as “No man is an island”, even though that’s not really the title…

  2. Allie Says:

    More trivia: “For Whom the Bell Tolls” is also one of Metallica’s biggest hits, off the album “Ride The Lightning”. They’re a very diverse group! lol I am quite fond of Hemingway (he was my second literary love, after Fitzgerald : ) but I love Metallica too, and would feel remiss not to mention them here!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Allie!

      You taught me something I didn’t know…and that’s one of my favorite things!

      As a Fitzgerald fan, have you watched the new Christina Ricci series on Amazon? If so, what do you think?

      • Allie Says:

        I’m glad I taught you something -as someone who enjoys teaching and learning, I take that as a compliment!

        I’ve hesitated to watch the Zelda show because I’m worried I might hate it. Yes I’m backwards! We knew that already. There’s so much apocryphal in biographical fiction like this…. I do try to suspend disbelief and I generally enjoy things more (kind of like stories that involve time-travel. Just slingshot around the sun and leave it at that! 😉 ). But it’s not as easy to ignore differences when I already have a LOT of background knowledge.

        Short answer – “I’ll get to it!” 🙂 I have higher expectations from The Last Tycoon, which is also playing as a miniseries on Amazon – it’s based on Fitzgerald’s novel that was left unfinished at the time of his death.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Allie!

        Yes, I intended it as gratitude/compliment! It’s truly appreciated. 🙂

        I understand what you are saying. I don’t write about it a lot on this blog, although I’ve mentioned it, but I have a deep knowledge of UFOs/paranormal phenomena/cryptozoology and more. For that reason, people assumed I would love The X-Files. I watched the first episode, and didn’t watch it again for years. 🙂 That’s even though my normal rule is to give a show two episodes before judging it. I had a big problem with Scully being shown in underwear, but it was also jarring for me in a way different than it would be for people with a more casual knowledge. I said to somebody at the time that it was like watching a Civil War movie and having fighter jets show up. 🙂

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Allie!

      You taught me something I didn’t know…and that’s one of my favorite things!

      As a Fitzgerald fan, have you watched the new Christina Ricci series on Amazon? If so, what do you think?

Leave a Reply

