Happy my birthday, 2017!

Happy my birthday, 2017!

February 12th is my birthday, and continuing a tradition, I’m giving you presents!

This is to thank you for making another year of my life richer. I have a lot of fun writing this blog, and I sometimes get to help people…and what could be better than that?

Part of KDP Select (the program through which users of Amazon’s Kindle Direct Publishing make books available for eligible Prime members to borrow through the KOLL…Kindle Owners’ Lending Library) is the ability to make books free for five days (they need not be consecutive) in a ninety-day period.

Please check that a title is free for you before buying it.

I have asked Amazon to make them free on February 12, but I can’t say exactly when it will happen. I think they may also only be free to customers in the USA.

Some might be fun to give as a little Valentine’s Day present…for somebody on your account. I am updating this post because I suggested you could buy them for other people, but that appears to not be the case when the books are on this 1-day free promotion.

So, you can click on the titles before, but please make sure it is free when you click the 1-click buy button.

The Mind Boggles: A Unique Book of Quotations (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

When this one was first published in December of 2012, it was the number one bestselling book of quotations at Amazon…including paper! That didn’t last long, but it was fun while it did. :)

Love Your First Generation Kindle Fire: The ILMK Guide to Amazon’s Entertablet (at AmazonSmile*)

This one has been a bestseller. It was written before the Kindle Fire HDs and HDXs, so it doesn’t match up exactly with those. If you do have the first generation Fire, though, I think you’ll find it useful.

The Kindle Kollection: Three Early Books about the Kindle (at AmazonSmile*)

This one combines the three below into one volume:

* ILMK! (I Love My Kindle): Being an Appreciation of Amazon’s E-Book Reader, with Tips, Explanations, and Humor
* Free Books for Your Kindle
* Frequently Asked Kindle Questions

ILMK! (I Love My Kindle!): Being an Appreciation of Amazon’s E-Book Reader, with Tips, Explanations, and Humor (Revised Edition)(at AmazonSmile*)

This has some fun stuff…and other things that are out of date. If you want The Happy Little Bookworm, this one has it. :)

The Collected I Love My Kindle Blog Volume 1 (at AmazonSmile*)

This is the first 101 posts in this blog. :) I did 101 posts so I wouldn’t cut off Doctor Watson’s Blog: A Kindle Abandoned (which is a four-part story). I’m still working, off and on, on a “best of” book. I’ll include posts that are less time-dependent…if you have any opinions on ones that you remember, feel free to let me know. I don’t know when that book will happen…as I mentioned last year on

My February 5th interview on The Kindle Chronicles

I’m guessing it might happen before it grows into the best of the first ten years, but we’ll see. 😉 I’m not really actively working on a book right now, although I always have ideas on that. 🙂 This blog is my main focus on writing currently, although I’m also doing quite a bit of writing in The Measured Circle blog, including coverage of Virtual/Augmented/Mixed/Merged Reality. I’m also working on  The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip : there have been some real improvements at The History Project since I started it almost a year ago, and I’m pleased with what’s there (although it is certainly still growing). It hasn’t taken off yet, but I still think it might…maybe this year. Oh, and I do think I have a good idea for an app…I could write the content, but I’d rather sell it to some studio than program and market it myself. If you know someone who does that, they can certainly contact me by commenting (I can keep it private) on this post.

One other thing: if you, or someone you know, would like to make predictions about next week’s Oscar winners, or just see what my group of players is saying, I’ve done BOPMadness (Bufo’s Oscar Prediction Madness…more than two decades old, and last year, we were 90% accurate) a Google form this year to make it simpler:

https://goo.gl/forms/NqSNqNS6Y3ZS4Q232

That’s where I’ve been creatively recently (outside of my “day job”…I do get to do some writing there as well, although that’s not my main job description).

Remember, double-check that the books are free to make sure before buying.

Happy birthday! ;)

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

*When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

6 Responses to “Happy my birthday, 2017!”

  1. Joe Bowers Says:

    Here’s wishing you a splendid birthday, Bufo. I, and many others, I am sure, enjoy and appreciate your efforts to inform and entertain us. I look forward to many more posts of your thoughtful and challenging work.

  2. Harold Delk Says:

    Happy Birthday. As an old friend once told me on my birthday years ago, “When you look back over your life and recall all you have accomplished so far, remember that when Mozart was your age he had been dead for many years.” Thank you for all you do to keep this community alive, well, amused, and informed.

  3. Thomas Jespersen Says:

    Happy Birthday and thanks for the gifts.

    I am in Denmark and the books were free here as well.

    I like the idea of releasing a blog as a Kindle book. I read quite a few self-help blogs. They could benefit from being in book-form. I guess not all blogs would benefit though. Current news/many tech related would have outdated information.

  4. Vale Ibarlucea Says:

    Hi! Sorry to ask about this here, but i couldn’t find an answer elsewhere… Could it be that Kindle for PC only shows content bought from Amazon? My content was bought form other stores and downloaded from free ebook libraries, and those don’t show up…

  5. Zebras Says:

    Happy Your Birthday! You continue to add to our experiences with our Kindles and books, etc.

  6. Lady Galaxy Says:

    “All the world is birthday cake, so take a piece, but not too much.” –George Harrison

    I hope you continue to “Live long and prosper!”
    –You know who

Leave a Reply

