Read the Oscar nominees 2017

Read the Oscar nominees 2017

The Oscars are Sunday night. I follow those quite closely…I’ve been doing an Oscar prediction contest for decades. Last year, we were 90% right, which wasn’t atypical. The deadline for entries is noon Pacific time on Sunday: if you want to play, you still can at

https://goo.gl/forms/NqSNqNS6Y3ZS4Q232

However, not everybody follows the Oscars…or watches the movies, for that matter. 🙂

Great movies are often based on books (or short stories or plays…) and a number of this year’s Oscar nominees have that origin.

In case you want to read any of them:

Arrival (Best Picture, Directing, Adapted Screenplay, Cinematography, Film Editing, Sound Mixing, Sound Editing, Production Design)

based on

“The Story of Your Life” short story collected in Stories of Your Life and Others (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)
by Ted Chiang
4.3 out of 5 stars | 577 customer reviews

Elle (Lead Actress)

based on

Oh…by Philippe Djian

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find them (Costumes, Production Design)

based on

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (at AmazonSmile*)

by J.K. Rowling (writing as Newt Scamander)

4.4 stars | 628 customer reviews

Fences (Best Picture, Lead Actor, Supporting Actress, Adapted Screenplay)

based on

the play Fences by August Wilson

Hidden Figures (Best Picture, Supporting Actress, Adapted Screenplay)

based on

Hidden Figures (at AmazonSmile*)
by Margot Lee Shetterly
4.5 stars | 662 reviews

I Am Not Your Negro (Documentary Feature)

not based on a specific book by author James Baldwin

The Jungle Book (Visual Effects)

based on

The Jungle Book (at AmazonSmile*)

by Rudyard Kipling
4.4 stars | 847 reviews

Life, Animated (Documentary Feature)

based on

Life, Animated (at AmazonSmile*)

by Ron Suskind
4.8 stars | 277 reviews

Lion (Best Picture, Supporting Actor, Supporting Actress, Adapted Screenplay, Cinematography, Original score)

based on

A Long Way Home (at AmazonSmile*)
by Saroo Brierley
4.6 stars | 538 reviews

A Man Called Ove (Foreign Language Film, Makeup and Hairstyling)

based on

A Man Called Ove
by Fredrik Backman (available in Kindle format, but with text-to-speech access blocked, so I’m not linking)

My Life as a Zucchini (Animated Feature)

based on

Autobiographie D’une Courgette
by Gilles Paris

Nocturnal Animals (Supporting Actor)

based on

Tony & Susan (at AmazonSmile*)
by Austin Wright
3.2 stars | 117 reviews

Silence (Cinematography)

based on

Silence by Shusaku Endo

Sully (Sound Editing)

based on

Sully: My Search for What Really Matters (at AmazonSmile*)

by Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III
4.6 stars | 271 customer reviews

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

All aboard our new The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

3 Responses to “Read the Oscar nominees 2017”

  1. Start Countdown Says:

    Arrival – Best Picture, Directing, Adapted Screenplay, Cinematography, I think arrival really deserve the oscar
    The jungle book – also deserve

  2. Phink Says:

    I am hugely political. I also love entertainment. I hate when they merge together. I stopped watching all awards shows I’m guessing 15 years ago, maybe even 20. I wish I could say I stopped when they got political but that’d be a lie. I just kind of got bored with them.

    I have said before one of my favorite things about this blog is political discussions happen very rarely and am so glad Bufo does not talk about the evils of one of the two party’s every 2 to 3 post.

    I hated it when Bill O’Reilly started the tradition of a Super Bowl interview with the President a few years ago. Can we not have one day a year where politics is not mentioned? I guess not. It does not matter who the President is I refuse to watch that interview. I’m not gonna do it.

    I’m trying to say that I will be really surprised if President Trump is not bashed quite a bit tonight. I could be wrong but I doubt it. Again, I would not want Clinton, Obama, Trump, Bush, etc. bashed in an awards show. It’s entertainment, not a political rally.

    Hey, this is just my two cents. I’m sure some hate these political statements in awards shows and I’m sure other love them. That’s what’s so great. Some can tune in and others can tune out and it truly is as simple as that.

  3. Today’s KDD: up to 80% off “Red Carpet Reads” | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] Fun and information about the Kindle and the world of e-books « Read the Oscar nominees 2017 […]

Leave a Reply

