Chrome extension tells you if that Kindle book is in your public library

Chrome extension tells you if that Kindle book is in your public library

Content is king.

People like to say that, and the point of it is, that it doesn’t matter so much what a delivery system is, if you don’t want what it delivers.

You could have the most magnificent home library in the world, with a spiral staircase and sliding ladders, but if the books you have it in are boring to you, you won’t be happy. The floor to ceiling library in our home literally has bookcases in it we bought from Ikea for $5 apiece. They have a section where you can buy beat up, scratched, pre-assembled pieces…and I figured there would be so many books on them (we have something like 10,000 paperbooks in our home) you’d never see the scratches. 🙂

When the

Amazon Echo (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

was first released, there weren’t a lot of “skills” (the Alexa equivalent of “apps” for a SmartPhone). Now, the

Alexa Skills store on Amazon.com (at AmazonSmile*)

has over 10,000, including some really useful and fun things (banking, trivia, entertainment, big brand names, and cool independents).

I’ve predicted that Amazon will get big into Virtual/Augmented/Mixed/Merged Reality this year. I’ve been using the

Samsung Gear VR headset (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

for just a few months. I’m now convinced that VAMM is ready for PrimeTime. Augmented Reality has had a “killer app” with Pokemon Go, but that was phone-based. Some would argue that we don’t have a killer app to get people to wear head-mounted VAMM yet…but I find watching commercial video to be a big attraction. Both Hulu and Netflix have apps, and they’ve both improved a lot. That’s the killer app for me…much better than watching on my TV at home. Now, Amazon, about Prime Video… 🙂

In terms of internet browsers, my preferred browser is Maxthon…but I am in Google Chrome right now. Why? Extensions. Chrome has some great extensions, which again are like Alexa skills or iPhone apps: little programs which often serve a single purpose. OneTab and Merge All Windows have made Chrome much more attractive for me, but there are some book ones as well.

I told you in January about

A great Google Chrome extension for eReaderIQ

but I want to thank

EBOOK FRIENDLY

for a heads up on a brilliant one called, simply, Library Extension.

I installed it this morning and it works beautifully!

You tell it what your public library is (you can have more than one), and the interface to do that was very simple. It already has the USA selected for me (that might just be the default, or it may have taken something from my browser for location). Then, I just had to tell it my state and county, and it was ready to go!

Then, when I went to a book at Amazon…I tested it with

The Hunger Games (at AmazonSmile)

first.

It took a couple of seconds to tell me that 35 of 56 “copies” were available at my library (those look like p-books), 5 of 8 audiobooks were available, and 0 of 2 e-books. I could then click, tap (or, I presume, eye gaze in virtual reality but I didn’t try that) a borrow button, and I was taken to Overdrive.

There’s no charge for any of this, and this is likely to save some of you a lot of money! I don’t tend to borrow books from our public library, in part because, well, we can afford books, and I don’t want to keep someone of limited means from being able to borrow one because I borrowed it. I love public libraries, and am absolutely fine with anybody borrowing from them…it’s just not something I do much.

Obviously, you won’t have Chrome on your EBR (E-Book Reader), and you might have it on your Fire…but you can borrow the book on your computer and then have it delivered to your EBR.

EBOOK FRIENDLY is really international, and they say, “Currently, the extension supports over 3,200 libraries in seven countries: United States, United Kingdom, Australia, Canada, Germany, New Zealand, and the Cayman Islands.”

It’s also worth noting that it works at a number of sites, not just Amazon (including the Amazon-owned Goodreads, but also Barnes & Noble, Google Books, and others).

I’ll be curious about your experiences with it…you can let me and my readers know by commenting on this post. Hopefully, it opens up a lot more possibilities for you!

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

All aboard our new The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

5 Responses to “Chrome extension tells you if that Kindle book is in your public library”

  1. Tom Semple Says:

    Library Extension also works on Audible. I’ve been using it for years and it is very useful.

    • Tom Semple Says:

      You mention that LE is showing audiobooks. I’m not seeing this. Note that you can configure it to ignore p-books or e-books.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Tom!

        Well, it does say it in a bit of a quirky way, but it’s clearly there.

        The first one just says “copies”.

        The second one says, “The Hunger Games (Audiobook)”.

        The third one is “The Hunger Games (eBook)”.

        Perhaps your library website files them differently?

        Oh, I tried another book, and Audiobook did not appear…my guess is that it only appears if there is a value…if your library doesn’t have any Audiobooks for a given title, you’d probably see nothing.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Tom!

      Nice! I’m not much of an Audible user, but those can be expensive!

  2. Google’s new move: good for readers, bad for Amazon? | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] Chrome extension tells you if that Kindle book is in your public library […]

Leave a Reply

