It’s available for pre-order! Amazon Echo Show available for pre-order

It’s available for pre-order! Amazon Echo Show available for pre-order

I wrote about it as a rumor yesterday, but you can pre-order (for June 28th at time of writing) now!

Echo Show (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

As expected, it is a new device…I would even say a new class of device.

You can buy two of them for $100 off with the code SHOW2PACK.

I’m going to publish this right now, because pre-order dates often get pushed back…and they may run out of stock. Then, I’ll update this later.

I’ve already ordered mine. 🙂

Update:

I think the biggest piece  of this is the calling and messaging, and I’ve had a chance to read over more information on it. Here is the (quite thorough) subpage

Alexa Calling and Messaging (at AmazonSmile*)

Note that this is not going to be just for the Echo Show: you’ll be able to call and message people with other devices…for free. That was always the promise of VOIP (Voice Over Internet Protocol), but this could actually have an impact…especially if it works internationally, but that’s not necessary.

The message, by the way, is a voice message…not a text message. It’s like leaving a voicemail.

It will work with all of the Echo devices…and the Alexa app, which people can download to a SmartPhone (iPhone or Android) even if they have no Echo device at all.

More later, but I’ll mention a few quick things:

  • You can see some wi-fi videostreams on your voice…for example, from your Ring doorbell
  • You can see lyrics with some songs…we have that in some places already, but this could make for nice sing-alongs 😉
  • You can watch YouTube videos…presumably, those could be entire movies, many of which are on YouTube (quite a few older, public domain movies and TV shows, but that’s not all)
  • Flash briefings can now be video, including well-known services

As you find things, feel free to let me and my readers know by commenting on this post!


My current Amazon Giveaway

Star Wars Day through 40 years of Star Wars!
Giveaway by Bufo Calvin
  • Winner:Randomly selected after Giveaway has ended, up to 1 winners.
  • Requirements for participation:
    • Resident of the 50 United States or the District of Columbia
    • Follow @TMCGTT on twitter
    • 18+ years of age (or legal age)

Giveaway:
https://giveaway.amazon.com/p/0ce7b24b32a4a670

Start:May 4, 2017 6:32 AM PDT
End:Jun 3, 2017 11:59 PM PDT

It’s going on that long in part so that it covers the actual 40th anniversary of Star Wars (of the release in the USA) on May 25th 2017. Also, this book, which has good reviews and is new, is $14.99 in the Kindle edition…which is a lot for me for a giveaway. 🙂

Good luck, and may the Force be with you!

Congratulations to Patty B, who won a copy of my sibling’s mystery

One Murder More (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

in the giveaway which finished yesterday!

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

All aboard our new The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project!

 * I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 
6 Responses to “It’s available for pre-order! Amazon Echo Show available for pre-order”

  1. Phink Says:

    Out of fear of being back ordered very quickly I ordered two before I knew anything about it. I then studied it with the thought I could cancel my order if I wished to do so. I think I’ll take two.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      I only ordered one, but I probably should have partnered with family and done the two-pack, on reflection. You probably did the right thing. 🙂

      • Phink Says:

        It’s not back ordered yet so why not cancel and have a redo. I mean it’s only $129 for the 2nd one. I simply could not pass on that price point. I was going to buy one for sure so for $129 why not a 2nd one? I’ll figure out what to do with it later. I might use both or give one away for Christmas to my adult child.

  2. Edward Boyhan Says:

    Well, I ordered mine ☺
    The calling stuff is not what I hoped (I’ll read your link to the details), but what I’d like is to be able to voice activate voice/text to any land or mobile device. Too much to hope for I guess ☹

    • Phink Says:

      Edward, I’d like to have that as well and will have in the near future. I was on a crusade last year to find a cheap cell phone alternative. Cell phones planes are just way too expensive but are now coming down thanks to competition. I tried Republic Wireless (RW) for two months before going to Cricket.
      I mention RW because they do what Amazon is doing here. RW uses WiFi to make calls as much as it can in order to cut down cost. They even have a $5 a month plan (only older phones work on this) that is WiFi only and no cell plan at all. Well, it seems to me Amazon is doing the same thing with their video calling. They say you can video chat with someone who has this device or the Alexa app. Since this device is not 4G nor does it have a spot for a SIM card that means it’s simply using WiFi to make the calls.
      AT&T is also working on WiFi calling because if they can get us to use WiFi to make calls it’ll save them a lot of money. This might be the future of telecommunications until something replaces WiFi. The tricky part is to keep the phone from dropping the call when going from WiFi to cell tower and back again. RW claims to have perfected this and they did a good job at it. I left them quickly for other reasons. Amazon will have a feature allowing us to make and receive calls and I don’t think it’ll be too far down the road.

  3. Edward Boyhan Says:

    Well, There’s more info from Amazon. I just received an email from Amazon titled: Introducing Alexa calling and messaging. I haven’t read it yet (tonight’s bedtime reading :grin).

    I’m here this week in Seattle for MS’s Build conference. Of interest to Echo/Alexa consumers: at the keynote they showed off the new Harmon Kardon speakers with Cortana. The speakers are mild trapezoidal towers, but other than that, they look just like an Amazon Echo complete with a rotating ring on the top for volume, and it lights up as Cortana is processing your utterance — just like the Echo. Then the presenter said: “Cortana, call my Mom”.

    A session later in the day was on how to build Cortana “skills” with the Microsoft Bot framework (lots of gnarly developer stuff). Afterwards I asked the MS Product manager was Microsoft’s use of “skills” the same as Amazon’s use of “skills”. She said from the 50,000 foot level, Yes. I then asked her how developing a skill for Cortana compared with developing a skill for Alexa (lots of chuckles from the audience — I have no shame :grin). Basically the skill intelligence for both sits in the cloud, but the dev tools are somewhat different. MS’s dev for Cortana uses their Visual Studio tooling — she did say that if Amazon wanted to (they probably don’t) they also could use Visual Studio. The Cortana skills are designed for multiple turn around conversations. Their goal is to ultimately deliver Cortana skills via the MS app store. She said it couldn’t replace “typing” (some groans from audience), but they are working on it.

    Still I think Amazon probably has a one to two year lead on MS.

Leave a Reply

