Today’s KDD: Agatha Christies (including some well known ones) for $1.99 each!

Today’s KDD: Agatha Christies (including some well known ones) for $1.99 each!

Today’s

 Kindle Daily Deal (at AmazonSmile…benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

is really nice! I may buy at least one to have available for our guest Kindle (although other people may read it as well, of course).

These are more than 20 books by Agatha Christie (including some of the best known ones) for $1.99 each!

I always like to point this out, but this is a particularly good example. You can buy the books at this discounted price, and then either delay the delivery for an appropriate gift-giving occasion, or have them sent to yourself so you can give them whenever you want. You could do your own “boxed set” of five of these for under $10!

Check the price before you click, tap, or eye gaze (the last in virtual/augmented reality) that Buy button…the price may not apply in your market, among other things.

I don’t have all my resources with me right now, but here are five I might suggest for a “boxed set” (without the box, of course) gift:

  • And Then There Were None (which has been known by other names, now…um…not considered appropriate by some people). When I was an actor, I had great fun playing Blore (and got good feedback). I was a bit frustrated, though. We had the audience “vote” who they thought was guilty at intermission, and despite my best efforts, no one ever picked me. 🙂 I’m not saying whether the character is or isn’t guilty, by the way…no spoilers here
  • Death on the Nile (Hercule Poirot)
  • The Moving Finger (Miss Marple)
  • They Came to Baghdad (this is not one of “Christie’s Mysteries”, and is more of a spy novel. Nice to have that variety)
  • The Mysterious Affair at Styles…Christie’s first published novel. This is another Poirot, but worth it for being the first, and this is an updated edition with illustrations

Enjoy!

Update: I decided to do an Amazon Giveaway for And Then There Were None!

https://giveaway.amazon.com/p/3e6a60b4814649a3

Winner:Randomly selected after Giveaway has ended, up to 1 winner.
Requirements for participation:
Resident of the 50 United States or the District of Columbia
Follow @TMCGTT on twitter
18+ years of age (or legal age)

Start:May 12, 2017 6:24 PM PDT
End:Jun 11, 2017 11:59 PM PDT


My other current Amazon Giveaways

Star Wars Day through 40 years of Star Wars!
Giveaway by Bufo Calvin
  • Winner:Randomly selected after Giveaway has ended, up to 1 winners.
  • Requirements for participation:
    • Resident of the 50 United States or the District of Columbia
    • Follow @TMCGTT on twitter
    • 18+ years of age (or legal age)

Giveaway:
https://giveaway.amazon.com/p/0ce7b24b32a4a670

Start:May 4, 2017 6:32 AM PDT
End:Jun 3, 2017 11:59 PM PDT

It’s going on that long in part so that it covers the actual 40th anniversary of Star Wars (of the release in the USA) on May 25th 2017. Also, this book, which has good reviews and is new, is $14.99 in the Kindle edition…which is a lot for me for a giveaway. 🙂

Good luck, and may the Force be with you!

One Murder More (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

the award-winning, highly-rated mystery by my sibling, Kris Calvin!

Giveaway: https://giveaway.amazon.com/p/398897583537603c

  • Winner:Randomly selected after Giveaway has ended, up to 1 winners.
  • Requirements for participation:
  • Resident of the 50 United States or the District of Columbia
  • 18+ years of age (or legal age)
  • Follow Kris Calvin on Amazon (to my knowledge, all that you’ll get is a notification when Kris publishes a new book in the Kindle store, although I don’t know that for sure…that’s all I’ve ever seen for authors I follow, I think. Kris is working on the second book in the Maren Kane mystery series.

Start:May 10, 2017 7:44 AM PDT
End:May 17, 2017 11:59 PM PDT

Thanks to the hundreds of people who have entered my previous giveaways for a chance to win Kris’ book! I don’t benefit directly from Kris’ book, although we have had a lot of conversations about it. 🙂

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

All aboard our new The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project!

 * I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

 

6 Responses to “Today’s KDD: Agatha Christies (including some well known ones) for $1.99 each!”

  1. alanchurch Says:

    35 years ago I was avidly reading AG mysteries. With each one I realized that near the end of each novel all the clues were there to solve the mystery and Hercule Poirot or Miss Marple invariably did, explaining it all in great detail. I resolved with the next one that I would solve the mystery before it was explained but I failed, again and again. And so I finally stopped reading them because of the sense of failure I felt. I suppose if I had put in the time, written down the timeline of events and thought abu it for hours as Hercule did I would have figured some of them our. But it wasn’t worth it to me. Instead I switched to other kinds of crime novels, wonderful ones by Lawrence block ,michael Connelly ,john Sandford. “And that has made all the difference” who am I quoting?

    • Lady Galaxy Says:

      One of my favorite poets and favorite poems, of course! Robert Frost’s “The Road Not Taken.”
      “I shall be telling this with a sigh
      Somewhere ages and ages hence:
      Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
      I took the one less traveled by,
      And that has made all the difference.”
      And then, of course, in ages hence, “The Quantum Universe” ruins the poetry of it all by offering the theory that in a quantum universe, every road gets taken after all.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Lady!

        You beat me on that one, although I did know it. 🙂 I was thinking in part how to do it without giving it away…I considered saying that I knew the “byline” (as in “less traveled by”), but fortunately, that wasn’t necessary. 🙂

        That’s an interesting interpretation of the quantum universe! I find it (literally) infinitely more poetic and appropriate for the poem. 😉 In a single timeline, making the choice means that certain things never exist. In a multichronal construct, making a choice creates two realities…every choice matters, and perhaps matters even more. The choice still affects the traveler…it’s just that it affects two or more versions of the traveler.

        If one looks at it as the choice itself creating the parallel universes (which is one interpretation), if everyone makes the same choices, entire universes do not come into existence. So, taking the path less traveled is an intensively creative act. If everything exists regardless, it’s still experienced by an infinite number of experiencers.

        I suppose it depends on whether poetry comes from denial (which is what often seems to me to be the case in “epic” literature”) or from embracing something…

  2. alanchurch Says:

    I forgot to add that as a result of your post I decided to buy “And then there were none”,which I’ve read. I remember who did it and now I’ll be able(I hope) to see the clues that tell who it was.

    • Lady Galaxy Says:

      I think that’s why I liked to read the last two chapters before reading the whole book. For me it’s more about seeing how it all comes together rather than the mystery of trying to figure it out myself.

  3. alanchurch Says:

    “I think that’s why I liked to read the last two chapters before reading the whole book. For me it’s more about seeing how it all comes together rather than the mystery of trying to figure it out myself.”
    I never thought of doing that. Perhaps I’ll give it a try.

Leave a Reply

