Prime Day 2017: partial list of sale items! (buy an e-book, get 40% back for another one)

Prime Day 2017: partial list of sale items!

I’ve been writing about this year’s

Prime Day (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

and people are asking me what’s going to be on sale. 🙂

They have told us about some items, but I thought it might be useful for me to look at the

Amazon shopping app (at AmazonSmile*)

which is listing many of the sales ahead of time, and list them for people.

Note that they don’t tell us what the price will be. I’m just going to give you the item and what time it is on sale. Wait  until that time, and then ideally, check it in the app to make sure it on a Prime Day sale…I may have some difficulty telling exactly what version it is.

I won’t get anywhere near all of them, and I’ll be subjectively choosing what’s to list first. They may sell out or only be on sale for a short time.

Right now (5:38 PM Pacific), Alexa voice deals are live…and you get an extra $10 off if it’s at least a $20 item (I think just once, not on multiple items). So, we got the

Fire HD 8

for about $30 through Alexa! That’s about $50 off, a great deal! Note that that deal is not available except through Alexa at this time (it may go live other ways at 6:00 PM Pacific on Monday, today, but won’t have the extra $10 off).

Alexa voice deals (but note that you have to order them by voice…you can see them here)

I saw this one this morning (Tuesday):

UPDATE: dulcibelle, one of my readers and commenters, had an important and probably correct interpretation (see comment). It now looks to me like you get 40% back of the purchase price of your first book. that’s an important and big difference. It also makes sense. So, if you bought the $50 book, you would get $20 credit for another book (so you could get two $9.99 books, for example). If you buy a $0.99 book, you only have about forty cents credit. I’ll make this clearer.

That’s one reason I love my readers! They want to help other people, and will respectfully correct me when I’ve made a mistake or misinterpretation.

buy an e-book, get 40% back for another one. Details on page

I do want to point out that you need to wait for a credit to show up in your account before buying the second book, which could take a day. Please do read the details on the page…many of my readers are in parts of the world where this probably doesn’t apply.

One more thing: I’m going to try to link some of these bargains…but to save time, I’ll only link to the main Amazon site. If you want to buy them through AmazonSmile, click on the link, then replace the “WWW” with “Smile” and hit enter.

Good luck and get bargains!

Remember, too, that they may be off sale by the time you click on them. I’ll change it to “live” when they go live, but probably won’t be able to change it to “done” near when most of them finish.

Keep checking back, I’ll be adding to this later!

Here’s one poll about Prime Day…I’ll add another one for how much money you saved after Prime Day ends:

Speaking of which, want to save the most money you can on one item? That’s likely to be the most expensive items, so here I have sorted the Prime Day deals with the most expensive items first. You can literally save thousands of dollars on things like luxury watches…I’ve seen more than 50% off on watches that they list at more than $5,000:

Prime Day deals from most to least expensive items (at AmazonSmile*)

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

All aboard The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project!

When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :)

10 Responses to “Prime Day 2017: partial list of sale items! (buy an e-book, get 40% back for another one)”

  1. dulcibelle Says:

    Maybe I’ve just worked with lawyers for too many years, but I’m not sure that Prime Day book credit will work like you’re thinking. Here’s the language from the offer: “Buy a Kindle eBook today, earn 40% credit back towards your next book, up to a maximum of $20”. It’s possible to read that as your eBook purchase today will result in a credit of 40% of the price OF THAT BOOK off the next book you order. In other words, if you buy a $2.00 book today, you’ll get a credit of 80 cents toward your next book. I hope that’s not what Amazon means, but wanted folks to consider the possibility at least.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, dulcibelle!

      That makes sense! I’m going to change the post!

      Thanks so much! I had seen a headline indicating it the way I’d done it, but what you say is more likely.

  2. Lady Galaxy Says:

    It doesn’t work for a book that was pre-ordered. One of my pre-order books downloaded at midnight. I was curious to see if I could get the 40% off on the next book, so I bought “The Fifty-Year Mission: The Next 25 Years: From The Next Generation to J. J. Abrams: The Complete, Uncensored, and Unauthorized Oral History of Star Trek ” a book from my ERIQ price drop list that was over my usual limit for a Kindle book. I didn’t get a discount on that book from the preordered book, but I did get a notice on the purchase confirmation page that read:

    “You have earned a promotional credit on your order. You will receive an email confirming your credit once the order has been processed.”

    The confirming e-mail did not list the amount of the credit, but when I clicked the link for another book on my wish list, under the “Buy now with 1-Click” button it said, “You have $6.40 in e-book credits.”

    If I had known the discount would be based on the first book I actually actively purchased today, I would have purchased “A Distant Mirror: The Calamitous 14th Century Kindle Edition” for $17.99 first and then the Star Trek book. Oh well, I’m in no rush for “A Distant Mirror” and surely it will come down in price eventually. Which book to choose to use the discount? I’ve got a few days to decide. I may need a dart board. I wonder if there are any available for Prime Day?

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      Interesting! I’d seen that book title and was intrigued, but hadn’t read much about it…I’d appreciate a general assessment from you. I don’t have a Star Trek timeline at The History Project currently (although I’m tempted to do one…I have a couple others I may do first). I have some references in the main timeline, but I’d like to do a lot more for Star Trek there, too! https://www.thehistoryproject.com/projects/view/1433

      There were some books on sale for Prime Day, but there are always sales… 🙂

  3. Lady Galaxy Says:

    Even though the discounted Kindle Unlimited option has been available for awhile, you might want to add to your poll “I joined/renewed Kindle Unlimited.” I renewed;)

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      Excellent suggestion! I also renewed. I’ve had added it to the poll, and did set the poll up initially so that people could vote twice. That was for just this sort of thing, so you can go back and add just that one vote (I’m hoping people don’t tend to put in the same answer twice).

      When I do my Prime Day wrap up post, I’ll include the poll again. That might be today, but we’ll see.

  4. Brian Hartman Says:

    Hey Bufo! Haven’t commented in a while but still subscribe to the blog on my Kindle and read it every day. I noticed “Gifting” a book is an option on MYC&D today when I was registering a new Prime Day fire 8. That’s awesome, I tried it and it shows as an option on all the books I checked. Has this been around a while and I missed it? I think it’s great! Keep up the excellent writing you do.

  5. Tom Semple Says:

    I waited until Prime Day to renew KU and was starting to panic because I could not find the deal anywhere (even when following your link here). Finally I stumbled on it and was able to get the discounted rate once again.
    I swore I was never going to buy another Fire tablet (have had 3 previous ones, all disappointing in the end) but caved and got the $50 deal on HD 8. It should at least be an improvement over my HD 6, which has poor battery performance, poor performance generally, crappy sound, and issues with sync of reading location

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Tom!

      I’m glad you found it! That was a big savings.

      We bought an HD8 to replace my Significant Other’s Kindle Fire…the battery seem shot.

Leave a Reply

