Wrap up: Prime Day 2017

Wrap up: Prime Day 2017

I found that this year, after the third

Prime Day (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

on July 11th, the buzz was generally positive. People at work knew about it, asked me about, and smiled about it. I know some of them saved some real money…some with my help, some without it.

In this

press release

Amazon gives us some of the statistics.

While I have no doubt that there was really significant growth, Amazon doesn’t make it easy to tell. They compare this year’s 30 hour Prime Day to “…the same 30 hours last year”. Was that July 10th at 6:00 Pacific to July 11th at midnight (not Prime Day to Prime Day)? Seems like it…

When we look at the amount of participation, we have to note that there were more countries participating this year, and there were probably a lot more

Amazon Prime (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

in the USA going into it as well.

Those caveats out of the way…

These are two of the big stats, in this short excerpt from the press release:

“More new members joined Prime on July 11 than on any single day in Amazon history. Tens of millions of Prime members made a purchase on Prime Day 2017, more than 50 percent higher than the prior year.”

Getting and keeping Prime members? That’s an important part of Amazon’s retail strategy (which is only one of Amazon’s revenue streams).

They are also right to tout the growth for third-party sellers.

Now, in terms of what sold, no question that Amazon devices dominated, with the

All-New Echo Dot (2nd Generation) – White (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

on sale for $34.99 ($15 off) leading the way.

They also gave us the bestsellers (outside of Amazon devices) from each Amazon site, and they are interesting to compare!

One surprise for me for the USA was that they list one of the

23andMe DNA tests (at AmazonSmile*)

as one of the bestsellers.

You can tell looking at this that people did buy expensive items (they might have bought inexpensive ones, too), which is good…bigger cash savings for the same percentage.

That’s what people did generally…what about you, my readers?

We’ll start with a poll I already had up in a post where I tried to help you find bargains. If you already answered it there, you can answer it again to add other choices…just don’t put the same one in you already did. 🙂 I did it this way because I posted it before Prime Day was over, and I figured your circumstances might change. I also added one option (about Kindle Unlimited) at the suggestion of my regular readers and commenters, Lady Galaxy:

I also said I would add a poll about how much you saved. When you answer this, count money you saved on the 40% off Kindle Unlimited deal, or other deals which were on the Prime Day page before Prime Day officially started. Oh, and I’d combine all the money from one account (even if more than one person was shopping on that account), and, I suppose, if you shopped on more than one personal account on Prime Day, I’d combine those, too:

I’ll be interested to see how many people saved more than the normal Prime membership cost!

One last thing: the most downloaded

Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

book was

Stillhouse Lake by Rachel Caine (at
AmazonSmile*
)

It’s well-reviewed and one of the most read books, and it was published by one of Amazon’s traditional publishing imprints, Thomas & Mercer.

Well, that was fun this year! I’m looking forward to next year!

Have anything to add? What was the weirdest thing you bought during this year’s Prime Day event? Did you find Prime Day uninteresting? Feel free to tell me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post.

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

All aboard The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project!

When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. Shop ’til you help! 🙂 

 

20 Responses to “Wrap up: Prime Day 2017”

  1. Harold Delk Says:

    We saved a total of just under $75. Another Dot, a cast iron dutch oven, some clothing, and a few new items for the teeny RV. We are leaving Roanoke for a couple of months to visit the Canadian Maritime Provinces; meandering, visiting friends, camping along the way, and eating lobsters and sipping martinis by the campfire to survive the ordeal. The dutch oven is to bake bread in over the fire so as not to waste any of the butter dripping from the lobsters.

    • Lady Galaxy Says:

      Cast iron dutch ovens are wonderful. I was lucky enough to inherit one that had belonged to my grandmother and then my mother. Best corn bread ever! I use it for everything from pot roast to fruitcake. Yes, I am that one person who actually likes fruitcake, but only using the recipe from my grandmother that takes 6 hours to bake and has to cure in rum soaked cloth for the time between Thanksgiving and Christmas;)

      • Harold Delk Says:

        The new one is a small 4qt. one, Victoria branded from Colombia, and bought it specifically for bread baking at home. Seasoned it a few times before making a rustic loaf yesterday and it works well and was quite inexpensive. I have my grandmother’s and great-grandmother’s old collection of some wonderful old Wagners which I use constantly to cook all sorts of food. The two older Dutch ovens are not suitable for the kitchen as they have legs so not very stable in the oven or the stovetop. Use them camping and over the fire pit at home. Your fruitcake sounds delicious; you soak anything in rum and I’ll eat it! Or bacon.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Harold!

        How wonderful to have “legacy” items like that!

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Lady!

        Making your fruitcake sounds like making traditional kim chee (AKA kimchi). 😉

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Harold!

      Sounds like you did well! I’m a wizard with a microwave 😉 and I can cook oatmeal on the stovetop, but that’s about it.

  2. Phink Says:

    I saved in the neighborhood of $120 on one item. However, I would not have bought it yet at regular price. So, did I really save $120 or did I spend $240 unnecessarily? 4 1/2 years ago we bought a battery powered push lawn mower (Greenworks). It has been amazing. Battery powered mowers have really come a long way.

    On Prime Day they had one on sale at around $220 (plus tax) or about $120 or $130 off. I can’t remember for sure without looking. Although nothing is wrong with ours other than a dull blade I decided for that price I’d get a fresh new warranty, another charger and another battery which came with it. Our other battery’s will work with this mower so now we’ll have extras.

    Since the 2013 cutting season we have not spent one penny on gas, oil, maintenance, filters or other nonsense I once dealt with when it came to mowers. Plus, it works as well as a gas mower.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      A battery mower does sound attractive to me. 🙂 I can’t really push a mower at all (due to a chronic condition)…I actually pull a shopping cart behind me when I have to use one at all. Most grocery stores let people put the groceries in a bag while I shop, and with a crossbody bag, that works.

      I use a weed eater on the lawn (I just want to scalp it, not trim it)…and that one is electric. 🙂

  3. Lady Galaxy Says:

    I didn’t save the cost of Amazon Prime, but thanks to tips from ILMK, I saved the equivalent of the cost of the ILMK Kindle blog for about 4 years! Thanks, Bufo!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      Wow! That’s a great way to put it, and I really appreciate you letting me know!

      You are more than welcome. 🙂

  4. Lady Galaxy Says:

    Update on the e-book credit offered for the purchase of a Kindle book on Prime day. BEWARE! It applies to any book, not just Kindle books. I finally decided which book to use my $6.40 credit to purchase, so I was surprised to see that somehow the $6.40 in credit was down to $1.75 even though I hadn’t purchased any other e-books between when I received the credit and when I tried to use it. I went back through my other digital orders to see if it had been applied to a music purchase, but it was not. Then, I checked my other purchases on Prime Day and saw that it had been applied to a paper book that I had purchased that day. That really surprised me because it had been clearly marked as an e-book credit. I know it all evens out in the end, but it still bothers me. The paper and ink book I ordered was to be a stocking stuffer present for a friend at the holidays.

    Oh well! What can you do other than complain to Amazon and then whine about it here, which I did!

    • Phink Says:

      What I read said something along the lines of “any paper book sold by Amazon or Kindle book.” I was surprised it was any book. Normally promotions such as $1 off any Kindle book only applies to those sold by Amazon, which is a very small selection it seems. I have about 15 books in my wish list and only 1 is sold by Amazon.

      i did take advantage of this deal. I bought a Monk book and used the 40% credit to buy another one.

      • Lady Galaxy Says:

        Somehow I missed the bit about paper book. The credit showed up as “e-book” credit, so I assumed. We all know about how “assumed” spells out;) Even if I’d known, I wouldn’t have considered the what I bought to have been an actual book. It is one of those coloring books for big kids. I have a friend who is pretty much house bound and she finds those coloring books to be relaxing. Somehow coloring books don’t seem like books to me.
        I don’t know why it bothered me so much other than that I had been planning to use it to buy a Kindle book that I’d had on my price drop list because it was way above my comfortable price. So I bought it expecting to receive $6.40 off the price and when I didn’t, I was bummed. My credit card will never know the difference, but it made a difference to me. Still, after I complained to Amazon, they were kind enough to offer me an addition credit towards my next Amazon digital services purchase which I very much appreciated.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Lady!

        Always worth trying Amazon Customer Service! You saved money twice, which is nice. 🙂

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Phink!

        We watched all of the Monk TV series! Were the books by Lee Goldberg?

      • Phink Says:

        Bufo,
        Lee Goldberg wrote the first 15 or so books. Then an author named Hy Conrad wrote the last three. The ones I bought were #2 and #3 by Hy. The first one by Hy titled “Mr. Monk Helps Himself” was a good book but one of the least enjoyable out of the bunch for me. So, far his 2nd attempt is not that great either. Lee, at least to me, seemed to bring out the Monk humor more easily and it felt more like the TV series to me.

        I’ve told people “if you loved the series you’ll probably love the books. If you did not like the series then you won’t like the books.” They have not released a new book in 2 years so perhaps the book series if finished for now.

        My favorite was “Mr. Monk on the Road” which I rated 9.2 out of 10. That one had Ambrose Monk as a central character and I always thought Ambrose was a fantastic character that I’d love to have seen more on the TV show. After 30 year or so of not leaving the house he goes on a road trip with Monk and Natalie.

        This one I’m reading “Mr. Monk Gets on Board” is about him going on a cruise. The author said it was the one Monk show never filmed. They had the script and wanted to do it but all cruise line refused to allow them to film on board because they did not want a murder happening on their ship, even in the fantasy world.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Phink!

        I appreciate you filling that in more…I wasn’t sure which ones you had gotten. I haven’t read a Monk book yet, although I’ve read a lot of tie-ins, and some were excellent (I liked the Get Smart books and some of the Man from U.N.C.L.E.).

        Maybe I’ll try Mr. Monk on the Road at some point…thanks for the information!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      Yeah, I think that whole promotion was a little confusing. Amazon would probably let you return it, but I don’t know that you could then get the discount, without some discussion.

      I’m glad I can give you a place to express yourself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

