Congressional request for review of Amazon/Whole Foods deal

Congressional request for review of Amazon/Whole Foods deal

When I first wrote about Amazon’s proposed takeover of Whole Foods:

The largelthiest storket in the world! Why does Amazon want to buy Whole Foods?

I was questioned on a couple of things.

One was my quirky words. 🙂 I was trying to combine “largest store” and “healthy market” (sort of), but I’ll admit that even for me, that was a stretch. 😉

The other was that I was referring to it in indefinite terms…not committing to it happening.

Well, I’m not going to say now that it’s not going to happen for sure…I think the challenge I’ll write about below is not going to derail it. However, I still think it’s not 100% yet, although I do think it’s likely to happen.

Here’s one story on it:

Reuters article by Ginger Gibson

On what?

Twelve Congressmembers of the minority party have sent a letter to the U.S. Department of Justice and Federal Trade Commission asking for a more in-depth examination of the proposed Amazon/Whole Foods deal.

The United Food and Commercial Workers International Union made the letter public:

http://www.ufcw.org/2017/07/21/amazonwholefoodsletter/

The two arguments in the letter seem…well, I’ll go with “unconvincing”.

The one has to do with the availability of healthy food to disadvantaged communities.

I’m sorry, but I just can’t see anyway that Amazon is going to make food less available than it is currently at Whole Foods. If anything, prices should come down (due in part to efficiencies, but also because of corporate philosophies). Delivery and access should also become easier for more people.

The other one is a concern about closing retail stores. I don’t see that that is specifically a problem (despite having been a manager of a brick-and-mortar bookstore, a gamestore and more).

I also think this deal will make it more likely that a brick-and-mortar store continues to be around, rather than less likely.

So, my guessed outcomes would be the opposite of what the letter suggests, on both of their issues.

Another thing that seems weird about this? Jeff Bezos hasn’t been a friend of the President…which should, essentially, align the Amazon CEO (Chief Executive Officer) with the people who signed the letter.

I’ll keep my eye on it, and I do think other challenges may arise, including other suitors and other legal questions.

What do you think? Will anything come out of this letter? Will something else derail the deal? Do you personally see a problem with the deal, and if so, what is it? Feel free to tell me and my users what yu think by commenting on this post.

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

All aboard The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project!

When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. Shop ’til you help! 🙂 

Leave a Reply

