Monthly Kindle Deals up to 80% off: August 2017

Monthly Kindle Deals up to 80% off: August 2017

Amazon does the Kindle Daily Deal (at AmazonSmile…benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*), which used to discount four books a day (often general fiction, a romance, a science fiction/fantasy book, and a kids’ book). Now, it seems like it is generally more books than that, and not categorized…although they have been doing themes this year as well.

They also do Monthly Kindle Book Deals up to 80% off (at AmazonSmile). There used to be about 100 of them, but there are many times that now: 1,324 at the time of writing…216 more than last month.

Those prices only apply to the USA, and one weird thing is that sometimes some of the books seem to sell out at that price (or become unavailable for some other reason).

Another thing is that 293 of them (76 more than last month) are available through

Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

Amazon lists that information prominently…and it’s now commonly a filter in search results. If they are, then you need to consider whether it is worth buying them…even at these low prices. While they are in KU, you can, if you are a subscriber (and there’s a free month available right now), read them at no additional cost. There are, of course, advantages to owning books, especially if you want to re-read them. A book could move out of KU at any time. Even if you think you want to own it, if you are a KU member, you could always read it first to make sure. 😉 I will mark them with KU.

By the way, in the new version of the

eReaderIQ advanced search

you can make KU a filter. So, you can search for books by an author, a keyword, an average customer review which you can read as part of your KU membership…nice! I’m not associated with eReaderIQ except as a user (we have had some correspondence), but I do think it is the most valuable website for Kindleers.

In terms of which ones are

Prime Reading (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

eligible, which is Amazon’s new benefit for Prime members, a rotating list of books you can borrow each month, this month there are 6, which is 3 more (double) than last month. That is notably fewer in KU and PR…I can see an argument that not discounting (as much?) a book which is available to borrow for free makes that look like more of an advantage.

I’m going to list some of the books in this sale that caught my eye…I’m not necessarily recommending them, but I do think they are interesting.

The ones I link (if I actually link to specific books) also don’t block text-to-speech access**…but I think blocking it is becoming rarer.

Okay, books!

  • Children of Eden by Joey Graceffa
  • DIY Nut Milks, Nut Butters, and More: From Almonds to Walnuts by Melissa King
  • Jane Two by Sean Patrick Flanery
  • When I Grow Up by Al Yankovic and Wes Hargis
  • Here Goes Nothing: An Introvert’s Reckless Attempt to Love Her Neighbor by Kendra Broekhuis
  • Beneath a Scarlet Sky by Mark Sullivan
  • The Elements: A Visual Exploration of Every Known Atom in the Universe by Theodore Gray and Nick Mann
  • Fitter Faster: The Smart Way to Get in Shape in Just Minutes a Day by Robert J. DAVIS and Brad Kolowich
  • How to Manage Your Home Without Losing Your Mind: Dealing with Your House’s Dirty Little Secrets by Dana K. White
  • The Best Seat in Second Grade (I Can Read Level 2) by Katharine Kenah and Abby Carter
  • A Lion’s Tale: Around the World in Spandex by Chris Jericho and Peter Thomas Fornatale
  • All Waiting Is Long by Barbara J. Taylor
  • Liked: Whose Approval are You Living For? by Kari Kampakis
  • My Life with Earth, Wind & Fire by Maurice White and Herb Powell
  • The Hidden Plague by Tara Grant
  • Why Kids Make You Fat: …and How to Get Your Body Back by Mark Macdonald
  • Leadership as an Identity: The Four Traits of Those Who Wield Lasting Influence by Crawford Loritts
  • Blue Hollow Falls (Blue Hollow Falls Series Book 1) by Donna Kauffman
  • ReLaunch: How to Stage an Organizational Comeback by Mark Rutland
  • American Contempt for Liberty (Hoover Institution Press Publication) by Walter E. Williams
  • The Witness by Nora Roberts’A History of the English-Speaking Peoples, Vol. 1: The Birth of Britain by Winston S. Churchill (KU_

Remember that you can buy them now as gifts and delay the delivery for the appropriate gift-giving occasion, or print them out and wrap them for whenever you want.

It makes a lot of sense to have so many series starters, but I should also mention that there may be other books in the series in the group…I didn’t list two book in the same series.

If there were others you’d like to mention for me and my readers, please comment on this post.

Prime members, don’t forget to pick up your

Kindle First books (at AmazonSmile*)

You can get one of the six (same as last month) books to own (not borrow) for free…these are books which will be actually released next month. This line was at the bottom of the listings this time (I changed the link): “Please note: Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*) subscribers can borrow these Kindle First books when they are officially released on August 1, 2017″. The choices this month are:

  • All the Little Children by Jo Furniss (suspense)
  • P.S. from Paris by Marc Levy (translated by Sam Taylor) (romantic comedy)
  • When They Come for You by James W. Hall (thriller)
  • Song of Edmon (The Fracture Worlds Book 1) by Adam Burch (science fiction)
  • The Heart Echoes by Helena von Zweigbergk  (translated by Tiina Nunnally) (contemporary fiction)
  • The Judgment of Richard Richter by Igor Štiks, (translated by Ellen Elias-Bursac) (literary fiction)

People like to know which one I pick…I would have picked P.S. from Paris, but although I’ve tried several, my experience with translated books published by Amazon has not been good (usually, the language has been too “stiff”). Hm, that three of them out this time. I’m not saying I’ll never get another translated book published by Amazon, but not this month. 🙂  I don’t think my Significant Other would like any of them…they all sound harsh. I always (eventually) finish a book I start, but I’m reading one now where I had to recommend that my SO not read it (even though we can both read the same book for free with our Kindle account…and I think my SO might have gotten the book). It is quite violent, and it certainly has a dark view of human motivations…for many of the main characters. The “protagonist” is someone for whom I can’t find much sympathy. Given that I’m the only one (at least of the two of us) who is going to read it…I guess I’ll go with All the Little Children.

Enjoy!

===

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

All aboard The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 
2 Responses to “Monthly Kindle Deals up to 80% off: August 2017”

  1. Lady Galaxy Says:

    I chose the same book you chose, but I’m not sure I’ll ever read it. Looking back, I’ve only finished two out of all the Kindle Firsts books. For the most part, I start reading and just can’t get into them.

    There is one thing I’ve been curious about. For the past few months, when Amazon sends me the monthly news letter about the Kindle First selections, the first line always says: “Read one of next month’s new releases now. FREE for Prime members and $1.99 for everyone else.” Yet on the product page, I never see a button with a $1.99 price listed. All I ever see is the buy for free and the $4.99 preorder.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      I’ve read some of the Kindle First books, but I can’t say any of them have really stood out to me as extraordinary.

      The Amazon site is “user contextual”. I’m guessing you never visit it without being logged into it, or at least, not often. 🙂 Just it can tailor the recommendations to you and say, “Hi, Bufo” (in my case…I don’t know if it calls you “Lady”), it can alter the prices and offers you see. I sometimes check it when I’m not logged into it, but I don’t like to log out on my main devices (it’s just easier…one example is alerts that packages are delivered). Every once in a while, though, I may hear about an offer I’m not seeing (it may be for new subscribers to Prime, for example), so I’ll check.

      Amazon also does “A/B testing”, where they may try different website designs for different people. Years back, I would describe where something might be, like “in your top right corner of the screen”, but that was confusing for people when it was somewhere else for them.

Leave a Reply

