After Game of Thrones, I would suggest they adapt…

After Game of Thrones, I would suggest they adapt…

I have just barely started watching Game of Thrones on HBO. In fact, I’m not even done with the first episode yet.

I actually started watching the first episode a long time ago when HBO was free for some reason for a weekend…it might have been a preview weekend on Comcast.

I didn’t like it that much back then, but I knew I hadn’t given it a real chance.

Well, we recently got HBO for free as part of DirecTV when they upgraded our phone/internet. We don’t subscribe to DirecTV otherwise.

I’m watching it on our Fire TV and Fire TV Stick (two different rooms):

Fire TV family (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

First, I have to say…either I haven’t figured it out yet, or the DirecTV app is…um…difficult. I’m not seeing where it will tell me which episodes I have already watched, or what I’ve been watching recently. Every time I go to GoT on it, it starts on the current season. Then I have to switch to the first season…and it always offers me the most recent one first. Oh, and when the app first opens, it shows me something live called “Audience”…which could give me spoilers, one of my least favorite things.

Speaking of spoilers, I haven’t been able to totally avoid them on Game of Thrones (who could?), but I don’t know most of it.

I also started reading

the original books (at AmazonSmile*)

and I’ve gotten farther than I have in the TV series, but still not very far.

The eighth season of GoT will be the final season (although there may be spinoffs), so I was thinking about what other fantasy book series might be good to adapt for an HBO type television series…and the first one that came to mind does seem good to me, even on deeper reflection.

Elric of Melnibone by Michael Moorcock

Unfortunately, that book is not available in the USA Kindle store…but I’m still going to write about it. 🙂

For those of you who don’t know, Elric is a tragic but lethal figure. I’ll put up a SPOILER ALERT, although I suspect most people approaching the series will know this much.

Elric has a sword…or perhaps, the sword has Elric. It’s an immensely powerful sword named Stormbringer, but it must kill to feed itself…and the wielder can not prevent it from killing friends to satisfy its hunger.

That’s a very simplified version, but gives you the sense of it.

I think people would very much relate to Elric: he’s really emo. 😉

It’s also a complex series, with a diverse set of characters. There are different races and exotic lands. There is blood and gore drama and political intrigue. There is a broad mythology and yes, there are dragons.

That’s what I’d recommend.

END SPOILER

I’ll make one more suggestion: the New World series by James Kahn, which starts with World Enough, and Time (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*) This is only a trilogy, which is a limitation, but it is a dystopia, and hey, those are still in, right? 😉 It’s set in the future, and classic creatures of mythology have been genetically engineered. There aren’t a whole lot of humans left, and that’s a lot of conflict between different types of sentient beings. Honestly, though, it’s not as edgy as Elric could be done (and still be true enough to the books).

I could make a lot of other suggestions for things I think could be adapted well (when Amazon had a public lists feature, which they no longer do, I had one just for that), but I think Elric is the best of the ones similar to GoT (in scope, in tone, in characters…and it is known and beloved for geeks, but probably not that well-known to the mainstreamers).

I’d be interested to hear your suggestions. If HBO was looking for a series to fill the hole which will be left behind when GoT ends (and not counting possible spinoffs), what would you recommend? I would suggest a series with complexity (it probably needs to be able to run for fifty episodes), and being HBO, with the potential for violence and nudity/sex.

Feel free to let me and my readers know by commenting on this post.

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

All aboard The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project!

*When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. Shop ’til you help! 🙂 

8 Responses to “After Game of Thrones, I would suggest they adapt…”

  1. Tom S Says:

    I’m confused: what is the relationship between ‘elric of melnibone’ book (out of print AFAICT) and the ‘Chronicles of the Last Emperor of Melnibone’ series (which is available in both print and Kindle editions)? Wikipedia refers to these as ‘a reprinting of the original material as a series of illustrated books’. There exist six such books, but (in sample of first book) the About This Book info says it is ‘book 1 of 14 in Chronicles of the Last Emperor of Melnibone’.
    Then the wikipedia entry says that “In August 2012, Victor Gollancz Ltd. announced their intention to republish all of Michael Moorcock’s back catalogue, including all the Elric stories, presented in internal chronological order along with previously unpublished material, and in both print and e-book formats.[14] The Elric volumes were released in 2013 and 2014.” But I don’t see these on Amazon.

    • Tom S Says:

      So I borrowed the first (e)book in the above-mentioned series. It appears to be the ‘original’ Elric material in new form, and includes an introduction by the author and other, related commentary and content. So it seems to be what you would read if you wanted to read the Elric stories (on KIndle or otherwise.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Tom!

        I really appreciate that! I honestly dismissed them, thinking they were graphic novel adaptations, so if they include the original text, that’s great! More like DVD extras. 🙂

        If you haven’t read Elric before, I hope you enjoy them! Feel free to let me know if you do or don’t, and if you think it would make a good premium TV series. I didn’t think about casting, but that would be interesting, too.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Tom, could you tell me which one you borrowed? I’d like to take a look…

      • Tom S Says:

        I borrowed “Elric: The Stealer of Souls (Chronicles of the Last Emporer of Melnibone Book 1)”; $4.99 in Kindle Store. Looking forward to reading it!

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks! That would be this one:

        Elric: The Stealer of Souls (Chronicles of the Last Emperor of Melnibone Book 1) (at AmazonSmile)

        Those are the early short stories (some not so short), which is a great place to start.

        When you say “borrowed”, I realize now you probably meant from the public library. The Library Google Chrome extension tells me that my local library has four copies in paper. 🙂

      • Tom S Says:

        Yes, I use SFPL – but have never borrowed a paper book from there. Any CA resident can get a card there and access its digital collections (Overdrive, Axis360, Hoopla, Enki). About half of the ‘large publisher’ books I want to read can borrowed, and I generally have 1 or 2 borrowed at any given time (though limit is 20 per service – I just cannot consume more than 1 or 2 at a time).

  2. A great weekend for 1980s geeks! | I Love My Kindle Says:

    […] looking for their own Game of Thrones zeitgeisty series…I’ve suggested Elric After Game of Thrones, I would suggest they adapt…, although that might be too similar: what would you suggest? Feel free to let me and my readers […]

Leave a Reply

