It’s National Book Lovers Day: five ways to share the love (and a giveaway)

It’s National Book Lovers Day: five ways to share the love (and a giveaway)

August 9th is National Book Lovers Day!

A bit of research hasn’t told me exactly why, though. 🙂 I didn’t see any special birthdays or anniversaries that would relate right offhand.

I think one of the best things about being a book lover is sharing your love of books (both generally and specifically) with others. I’ve been doing that for a very long time. Back in high school, I was the “librarian” for our science fiction club. We were actually given the use of a very small room for it, and people could check out books. I’ve also been the Education Director for a non-profit, which included digitizing public domain books to give away online. I managed a brick-and-mortar bookstore. I’m coming up on eight (!) years of writing this blog.

I used to buy pretty much every used paperback of the first Doc Savage novel I saw, so I would have copies to give people to get them started with Doc (even though that first one is atypical, it’s part of Doc’s development and important to understanding what one of my fictional heroes becomes).

Amazon gives us several ways to share our love of (Kindle) books with others, and I thought I’d list five.

  1. Give someone the book! Barnes & Noble had gifting of e-books before Amazon, and people talked about that a lot. It was something people definitely wanted to do, and I’ve given many books to people over the years…it’s definitely one of my favorite things to do. Since we got that ability on November 19, 2010 (three years to the day after the Kindle was released), the ability to do it has expanded. There are still (understandably, in my mind) some limitations (geographical, primarily), but it’s really quite easy. You can gift a book from the book’s Amazon product page, but a fairly recent and welcome addition is the ability to do it from the MYCD (Manage Your Content and Devices), formerly MYK (Manage Your Kindle) (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*) page. Yep, find the book there, click/tap/eye gaze (although I haven’t actually tried this specific thing in Virtual Reality, I know I can buy books from Amazon there) the Actions ellipsis (…) and you’ll see a choice to “Gift Now”. You can also now delay the delivery of  gift, or print it out to give whenever you want…that lets you take advantage of the constant sales at Amazon to get something at a discount
  2. Loan someone the book…this is quite limited, and up to the publishers. Not all books can be loaned, and when they are loaned, it is only for fourteen days (and you can only loan any given book once…ever. Not once to two different people)
  3. Review/rate the book: you can do this on the book’s Amazon product page, at the Amazon-owned Goodreads, or even from within the book itself when you are finishing it. This is an extremely powerful way to aid a book’s audience growth. It’s so powerful that people cheat, and they get caught at it. I used to write some reviews in this blog, but after polling my readers, I’ve largely stopped doing that. I do review books at Goodreads, but quite inconsistently. I read several books at once, and I may finish one while I am out. I just don’t find it convenient to review every single book I finish…and honestly, I don’t always think it’s useful for me to do. When I write a review, I want it to be good writing, not just an opinion. I want it to give an insight into the book. It’s not something I just dash off without thinking, and I don’t prioritize writing them very highly, compared to other writing I’m doing. Perhaps I should…
  4. Share that you are reading/have finished/have bought a book: while you can add a comment, that’s more of just a statement of fact. 🙂 It does, though, really encourage other people. When we are eventually shopping in virtual bookstores, it will still have a very big impact on people to see others’ avatars buying a book. One new way Amazon has made that available is through Amazon Spark: Amazon Spark: a new social network (and product discovery) for iOS. It’s sort of like Instagram for Amazon products. I’ve dabbled, but it’s too limited for me to use it much at this point
  5. Amazon Giveaways: this is different from giving a gift to a particular person…it’s more like having a lottery, although there are several ways to structure it: Amazon Giveaways: so fun I’m running four (update: 5!) right now 🙂. I was doing these a lot and enjoying it. Personal circumstances have me not doing it the same way right now, but I highly recommend it if you can and you want to promote (that doesn’t have to mean for financial gain) a book. Just make sure to make the giveaway public, so people can discover it

Even though that’s already five, I’ll also mention Amazon Gift Cards. That lets you share your love of books (as would gifting Kindle Unlimited (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)) in a more general way. 🙂 What I’m going to do next is an example of a way to use gift cards.

I’m going to give a $5 Amazon gift card to someone who comments on this post today (by 11:59 PM Eastern time)…I’d like you to mention the title of a book, but I won’t require that. If you don’t want the gift card, please mention that. I’ll randomly select someone (not including people who say they don’t want it) from commenters on this post during that period. I will use the e-mail address you use to post, which won’t be public to anyone else…don’t include your e-mail address in your comment. 🙂 Just my way of sharing the love of books with book lovers.

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

All aboard The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project!

*When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. Shop ’til you help! 🙂 

5 Responses to “It’s National Book Lovers Day: five ways to share the love (and a giveaway)”

  1. Pam Says:

    So glad to see your blog again! For some reason I haven’t rec’d your emails in a long time! I have a hard time finding the time to sit down and read (so much else to do) but it doesn’t keep me from buying them! 😂 I just started Being Mortal by Atul Guwande and it’s interesting. 2 books I loved were by Dr John Lerma, who was a hospice Dr., and he shared his experiences with patients passing away in the books Into the Light and Learning from the Light. I also was fascinated with The Story of Edgar Cayce by Thomas Sugrue. I lean towards non-fiction a lot. Too much interesting real life stuff to spend time reading fiction!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Pam!

      Sorry you hadn’t been seeing it! I can sometimes let Amazon know and they seem to be able to get it going again.

      I read a lot of non-fiction (and fiction) and I definitely have Edgar Cayce (“The Sleeping Prophet”) on my shelves. 🙂 I find value in both fiction and non-fiction, myself…I like to mix things up, and they give different sorts of insights into the world.

  2. Jen Says:

    I love that there’s a day devoted to books! Every year I use at least one day of PTO just to read all day. Had I realized today’s holiday I’d have taken today off to re-read Wildfire by Ilona Andrews. Id read the phone book if they wrote it. They’re magical like that. Happy reading!

  3. Lady Galaxy Says:

    I’d never heard of National Book Lovers Day, so I visited the Google. The first article I encountered included “Fast Facts” that I really needed to know. Among those “facts” was the statement that sales of e-books is declining. Of course, the last line of that part of the article concluded, “There is one caveat to the report though, Talking New Media notes. The sales report didn’t include Amazon eBook sales.” What?

    For me, every day is Book Lovers Day. I was lucky enough to have parents who were book lovers and who passed that love down to me. I taught reading for 30 years. I know I didn’t light the “love of reading” fire in them all, but I still encounter former students who tell me that a book I used in class or a book I recommended sent them down the path towards a life long love of reading. The most recent told me she now had a library of over 3,000 books and for her it all started with “Romeo and Juliet.”

    I just finished reading “Eden’s Outcasts: The Story of Louisa May Alcott and her Father.” She was the first author who caught my attention as a person, not just a name on a book cover. In fact, I think the first biography I ever read was about her. I’ve previously read several biographies of both Louisa and Bronson Alcott, but this one is by far the most balanced.

    I’m currently reading “The Birth of Britain: A History of the English Speaking Peoples, #1)” by Winston Churchill. It’s available through Kindle Unlimited, and is one of this month’s special deals at $2.99. Three out of the four books in this series are at that price point. I’m debating whether to go ahead and buy them to keep as reference books. I still have my huge college textbooks on the history of Britain, but they are too heavy to hold and the print too small to read.

    And of course, it’s summer, so I’m reading some lighter fiction about Celtic Witches by Molly Milligan and disrupted magic by Melissa F. Olson and the 32nd book in Marcia Muller’s “Sharon McCone” series. Yes, I’ve read all the others. I discovered her in the late 70’s and have eagerly awaited each new installment. She’s one of the few authors for whom I preorder and don’t even look at the price.

    Wow! I’m in danger of turning this post into a book! Happy reading to Bufo and all the ILMK gang of book lovers!

Leave a Reply

