Ending Sunday night: QVC has the original Echo (“The Tower”) for $74.95

Ending Sunday night: QVC has the original Echo (“The Tower”) for $74.95

This is a really great deal! Yes, it’s possible a new model will be introduced soon, and possibly with more capabilities…but I would think it very unlikely that it would have these capabilities for this price.

http://www.qvc.com/Amazon-Echo-Speaker-with-2-Plus-Months-Music-&-Audible-Books.product.E231174.html

You can get it in black or white, and it let me select as many as five for my “cart”.

The deal is scheduled to end at about midnight Eastern time (9:00 PM Pacific time) tonight, Sunday, September 3rd.

You can also choose to do 5 “easy payments” of $14.99, which comes out to the same price.

Additionally, there is another $5 off an order (not per device) for first time buyers: you use the code FIVE4U. I confirmed that it was still valid with QVC, and asked for any restrictions. I got this response:

“Traci: (QVC Customer Service)1:07 PM
Its only applicable to new customers to QVC. If orders have been placed by phone and they choose to order online, they are not considered to be a new customer.”

This offer also may not apply outside the USA…not sure.

The black version of this is currently sold out at Amazon. The white one is $99.99, so this is a $25 savings!

I’m excited to see what comes next, but whatever it is, this will still be a bargain…again, good today only.


My giveaway for my sibling’s book

We Can Do It!: A Problem Solving Graphic Novel Guide for General Physics (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

ended yesterday.

At the end, there were 194 entrants for the two Kindle “copies”. One has been claimed so far…it sometimes takes a little while for people to see the e-mail that they won.

How did running the giveaway affect the book?

This is what the stats were before I started the giveaway:

Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,069,494 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

#2849 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Nonfiction > Science > Physics
#15527 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Comics & Graphic Novels > Graphic Novels
#19877 in Books > Science & Math > Physics
@terrance_can followers: 6

These are the stats the day after it ended:

Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #818,002 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
#2292 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Nonfiction > Science > Physics
#10917 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Comics & Graphic Novels > Graphic Novels
#15650 in Books > Science & Math > Physics
@terrance_can followers: 6

As you can see, it jumped up a lot! Close to 24% in its overall ranking for paid in the Kindle store. That’s not bad for a five-minute set up time and $14.00 cost. 🙂 It didn’t increase Twitter followers for one of the characters, but I hadn’t required that people follow that feed…I just mentioned it when people signed up.

Thanks to everyone who entered!


My  current Amazon Giveaways:

The Collected I Love My Kindle Blog Volume 1 (at AmazonSmile*)

That collects the first 101 posts in this blog. I didn’t stop at 100 because I wanted to include all of my Sherlock Holmes story

A Kindle Abandoned

That’s a random giveaway, and will run for eight days (ending September 5). I do ask that you watch a twenty second video of one of our dogs when you enter…you know, we’re hoping it goes viral. 😉 Ideally, it would show up on the  Echo Show (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)…that would be so cool!

Here is the link:

https://giveaway.amazon.com/p/de03be17bb4d0ecb

and the details:

Start:Aug 28, 2017 4:42 AM PDT
End:Sep 5, 2017 11:59 PM PDT

Winner:Randomly selected after Giveaway has ended, up to 8 winners.
Requirements for participation:
Resident of the 50 United States or the District of Columbia
Watch a YouTube video
18+ years of age (or legal age)

113 entrants at time of writing

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

All aboard The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project!

*When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. Shop ’til you help! 🙂 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

 

6 Responses to “Ending Sunday night: QVC has the original Echo (“The Tower”) for $74.95”

  1. Phink Says:

    I got one. I have about 200 Audible books because I love immersion reading. This allegedly comes with 3 free audible books. I say allegedly because I’m always worried about that stuff till I actually receive it. It could be new members only or something although I doubt it. I don’t think I have much to worry about but you never know. If you count the cost of 3 months membership that’s $45 of the $70 I paid. I think I can sell my Dot for $20 without any problem as well.

    I will put this in my home office to replace the dot. I would not have bought this if playing music everywhere did not get developed. I have learned I love playing music everywhere so when I go from room to room it’s still playing. However, mine are dots except the one in the living room and music on the dot was never meant to be. Yes, I could hook to a blue tooth speaker but too much trouble for a lazy person like me.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      I do use a Bluetooth speaker with one of our Dots, and that works well. The Bluetooth is water resistant and in the bathroom, and pairs very easily. That lets me hear news or my schedule in the morning…the Dot is close enough in the bedroom to hear my requests.

      I haven’t tried the music everywhere thing yet (I have been traveling, for one thing)…where I think I might use that is with Len Edgerly’s Kindle Chronicles podcast.

  2. Phink Says:

    I thought this was an interesting article. I have wished many times I could access Kindle books on the Kobo. Here is one statement about why they think Kobo is innovating better than Amazon.
    Amazon is not exclusively focused on e-readers, they have the Echo, Fire Tables, Alexa and Fire TV. They have their own clothing line and deliver groceries right to your house. Kobo, is exclusively focused on developing e-readers and selling e-books. This is why Kobo has managed to out innovate Amazon and why they will continue to erode their market share in the coming years.
    https://goodereader.com/blog/electronic-readers/kobo-is-doing-a-better-job-than-amazon

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      I wouldn’t argue that Amazon’s EBR (E-Book Reader) hardware is better than Kobo’s…although, of course, Kobo wasn’t an EBR manufacturer at first…my guess is that they are still, business-wise, a bookstore first. However, they do keep doing interesting things. They have audibooks now, and you can get $5 off your first e-book (and it says your first audiobook for free, but I haven’t checked the conditions).

      I think the Kobo is a good choice, and I wouldn’t discourage someone from getting one.

      That said, if a family member asked me what to get (and one did recently), I would suggest the Kindle Paperwhite. It’s not just about hardware, and the very factor that they cite as a challenge to Amazon innovating (that they do many things) is part of why. I can ask my Alexa-enabled devices to read one of my Kindle books (as long as the publisher hasn’t blocked text-to-speech access…and I don’t buy ones where they have. At least one happened after I bought it, though, which meant mine isn’t blocked, but later purchasers don’t have that access), and it will do so. Amazon gives you a rotating selection of about a 1,000 books you can read for free (if you are a Prime member).

      Even if the Amazon hardware is bettered by the Kobo hardware (and I haven’t compared the two recently…definitely, Amazon needs a water resistant EBR), the rest of the Amazon “ecosystem” makes it generally preferable, in my opinion.

  3. Phink Says:

    I should have known Bufo. I got my QVC Echo in and of course I do not get those free audible books because it’s for new members only. That is so stupid. I read the fine print before ordering but I might have missed it in all the legal jargon. I told QVC I’d never order from them again. It should have been in regular type at least in the description. Actually I should have just known from past experience I guess LOL. I probably would have ordered it anyway but it’s still irritating.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      Well, if you didn’t know, you did strongly suspect, right? Didn’t you tell me in a comment that you thought that would be the case?

      What sort of remedy (if any) did QVC offer? Was there a return option, for example?

Leave a Reply

