Round up #161: Harry Potter in Motion, 105 years of Tarzan

Round up #161: Harry Potter in Motion, 105 years of Tarzan

The ILMK Round ups are short pieces which may or may not be expanded later.

It’s a hit!

The latest version of Stephen King’s novel, It

official site

has set a number of records at the box office (just to point this part out: it looks like it will, by itself, be about 75% of the box office of the top twelve this past weekend, according to this

BoxOfficeMojo story

Stephen King is having a good year. 😉

That’s despite The Dark Tower adaptation underperforming many people’s expectations.

On paper (you remember paper, right?) 😉 that didn’t seem likely. It’s a very long book…shouldn’t it do better as a premium cable series? There already was a memorable visible medium version, with one of my favorite actors, Tim Curry. So, this is a remake. The book came out more than thirty years ago…so it was published before most of the most frequent moviegoers (age 25-39…I think that’s the right group) were reading books.

Still, it succeeded…and well! We have to yet see if it has legs (if it will maintain box office). A B+ on Cinemascore, and an 86% “tomatometer” and 89% audience score on Rotten Tomatoes, it will likely maintain some momentum. Those aren’t top of the scale, but are quite good.

There should be a bandwagon effect, and assuming it can stay in the theatres through Halloween, it will get a boost then.

Bottom line: books still make great movies. 🙂

Oh, and they are talking about a sequel…would that mean a new book from Stephen King? Perhaps not…

Happy birthday, Tarzan!

Speaking of books which have been box office gold (and dross…there have been a lot of Tarzan movies), September 10th is 105 years since Tarzan was first published (according to ERBzine). It was an important book and series in literature…one which is sometimes now not included in school libraries and curricula because of concerns about insensitivity.

A crushing loss…Terry Pratchett’s unpublished works steamrolled

I don’t even crack the spines of mass market paperbacks when I read them, and seeing old books “repurposed” into art or furniture makes me cringe.

So, it wasn’t easy for me to read that, as reported in this

Scroll.in article by Claire Squires

and many other sources, that a hard drive belonging to the recently deceased science fiction author Terry Pratchett ( at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*), which may continue something like ten unpublished novel, was literally crushed by a steamroller.

That would be horrible…but it was carrying out the author’s wishes.

While I lament the loss of any literature to the world, I do also believe it is up to the author. We’ve had those discussions on this blog about copyright and public domain. Do books belong, in some way, to the society in which they were created, or do they belong to the creator?

If you believe the former, then would you have thought it was appropriate for the government to seize the hard drive? Do you secretly hope that other copies of the manuscripts exist…and that they are eventually published, presumably contrary to the author’s wishes? Maybe when they would have fallen into public domain?

I think it’s a bit of a tough one…

Harry Potter and the Kindle in Motion edition

Just a quick note on this one…

What would make you buy a new edition of Harry Potter?

Well, this one

Harry Potter Kindle in Motion (at AmazonSmile*)

is different…and is Harry Potteresque. 🙂

It has pictures in it…which move.

I’ve read a Kindle in Motion book (partially), and it’s…and it’s an interesting gimmick. 🙂 It can be an enhancement, but honestly, I also find it a bit creepy when the ads on my Kindle Fire start moving. However, if the appropriate things in a Harry Potter book moved, that could be cool!

What do you think? Feel free to let me and my readers know your opinion on any stories in this post (or other e-book/Amazon stories) by commenting on this post.

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

All aboard The Measured Circle’s Geek Time Trip at The History Project!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amaz on site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 
37 Responses to “Round up #161: Harry Potter in Motion, 105 years of Tarzan”

  1. Genre Book Reviews Says:

    I got the Harry Potter in motion book. The illustrations are gorgeous. I got this mostly to read to my 7 year old hoping the pictures will keep her interested.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Genre!

      I appreciate that field report! The pictures may certainly help. I haven’t seen how these work yet, but I would suggest you isolate looking at the pictures from the words. Look at the pictures first, maybe discuss them a bit (even guess what they may mean will happen), read past the point of the picture, and then reflect back on what the picture meant.

      Just my suggestion as a trainer. 🙂 In terms of the books generally, take your time. They were, in my opinion, meant to be read once a year as the reader also matured along with Harry…one of my favorite things about them. 🙂

  2. Phink Says:

    Well Shoot! Now I’ve got to buy all the Potter books again. I’ve already bought them in DTB, Kindle (when they were mistakenly priced at $14.99 for the set), audio CD, audible, and illustrated as they are coming out for the wife. I don’t think I must have them all. It’s just over time a better version comes out. Once I discovered the Kindle I was done with DTB’s. Once audible got them that’s much more convenient than my CD’s and so on.

    But, if I put it off a few days there is a good chance I’ll pass. I’m so intrigued but at a cost of probably $70 for the set when I have so many ways to read it now. I’m not sure.

    • Lady Galaxy Says:

      Go for it!

      I have all the USA Beatle albums in vinyl “mono” format. Then I bought them all in stereo. Then when they were reissued in their “Brit” versions on vinyl, I bought those. Then all the cassettes. Then the CD’s. Then MP3. Then the CD’s were reissued in USA format, so I bought those. A few months ago they released a deluxe version of Sgt. Peppers. The only format I missed out on was 8 track because I never had an 8 track player. I’m waiting for the holodeck version.

      • Phink Says:

        Lady,

        I almost typed above “However, $70 is not really much. I mean my wife and I will spend that eating out 2 meals.” $70 is really nothing if it brings you joy and you have it to spare but sometimes I feel if I did not nickle and dime so much my entire life I’d have more money in my retirement account. I think I will buy them. I’m not in a hurry however as the price surely will not go up and I would not read it right now anyway.

        You know the only reason I read Harry Potter a few years ago was to see what all the hoopla was about. I never cared for dragons, magic, etc. It reminds me of what Bufo said he encouraged his employees to do when he was the big cheese of a brick and mortar book store. He encouraged employees to read something from every section, or was it a section they normally would not read? Either way I never read anything like Harry Potter. I watched the first movie and was not crazy about it but eventually read the book thinking it cannot be worthy of all this praise. Well, I was wrong. I think it’s the best literature hands down I’ve ever read. It’s impossible to predict the future but I would not be surprised if it’s as popular as Shakespeare today in 500 years from now.

        Speaking of being the big cheese. I was once the store manager, and then area marketing coordinator over 12 pizza delivery stores. About the only thing I ever encouraged my employees to do was to get the pizza there safely, with a smile, and within 30 minutes so I would not get fired LOL.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Phink!

        In terms of price…I used to say that things based on natural resources (like paper) tended to get more expensive while things based on technology tended to get less expensive. That latter one does still tend to be true, I think, for the same technology…however, the trick is that they keep improving the technology and then charging more for it. The Kindle Oasis, the iPhone X…both examples. That doesn’t mean that the price doesn’t also go down…that happened with the Oculus Rift recently, and the least expensive Kindle could get cheaper (as could the Paperwhite). However, the most expensive models of a line seem to become more expensive…with more capabilities.

        It was a book from every section. 🙂 If they had already read a book in a section, they didn’t need to read another one…but they usually would anyway.

        I agree with you on Harry Potter…I think it is “timeless” literature, and while some it will be seen as quaint, I’m willing to bet it will be read in 100 years.

        Being an area a manager must have been tough! I’ve had a lot of employees, but I’ve always been able to know all of them as individuals. Relying on second hand assessments would be…a different level of complexity.

      • Lady Galaxy Says:

        I got the first Harry Potter book at the Scholastic book fair that came to the school where I was teaching. I read it before putting it into my classroom library, but I wasn’t terribly impressed by it. It wasn’t until the whole series had been completed that a friend convinced me to go back and give the Potter series another look. That was about the same time that the series became available to Amazon Prime members as part of the one free borrow per month deal. The second time around, it just clicked how good they were. Of course, I realize now that they just kept getting better as the went along. It was so hard to wait until the next month to read the next one. It made me realize how hard it must have been for the young ones to wait a year or longer for the next one to appear. Like you, I eventually picked up the whole bundle for the mistaken price. By the time I read the whole series, I had retired from teaching. My only regret was that I didn’t read the series while I was teaching.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Lady!

        The way the HP series “matures” along with the characters and readers is one of the most impressive things to me about it! I don’t think it was J.K. Rowling becoming better as an author or understand the characters better: I like to believe that she intended the increased intensity from the beginning.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Lady!

        🙂

        I’d love a holodeck version of Sgt. Pepper’s! I may get that in VAM! Virtual reality would probably be best in that case, but augmented would be fun, too!

        By the way, the album cover didn’t have the apostrophe I used, so you are correct in matching that…but apparently, not having it was just a mistake. 🙂

        http://ew.com/music/2017/05/22/beatles-sgt-peppers-anniversary-giles-martin-jann-haworth/

      • Phink Says:

        Bufo,
        Talking about me being an area manager I was actually Area Marketing Coordinator. I did not have the authority to manage anyone. That would be the Area Supervisor. We had store managers, next up the ladder of pay was Marketing Coordinator, and then Area Supervisor. While I had no authority directly I had the ear of the Area Supervisor and spoke to the Franchise who lived in another state every week on the phone and gave him a report on how I felt the stores were being ran as well as other issues.

        My duties were to visit all 12 stores in my area once a week and to make sure they were following their marketing calendar I had made for them as well as checking to make sure everything was running as it was supposed to be ran. I did not have the authority to correct anyone but had to report what I observed and the managers knew that. I was also there to support them in anyway possible if I could.

        I also did audits to look for signs of theft. Before computers it was easy to steal from the stores. There were bread crumbs however and eventually they would probably get caught. Managers got 15% of the store profit each month and one way to increase profit is to run lower food cost without skimping of course. Every store had to be food audited every once in a while by me as well. If a manager had high food cost (this cost him bonus money as well as a lecture from the Supervisor) he/she could have simply added a few bags of cheese and other items to the ending food inventory which we did weekly on Sunday nights. This would show more food than was actually in the store lowering food cost percentage for the week. Of course it did not fix the real problem and the next week they’d really be in trouble and the problem got deeper. I’d show up unannounced on Monday’s from time to time waiting on the opening manager to open the door. I’d count all the food to make sure it matched Sunday night’s inventory. Most times I felt more like security than a marketing Coordinator.

        I know this is already long but here is how we caught one assistant manager stealing. This is before a single computer was in the store in the early 90’s. The assistant manager on nights he closed was supposed to deposit let’s say $1,480 but he’d stick $300 in his pocket and deposit $1,180 and on the deposit slip he’d make sure there was a little room between the two 1’s. He’d put the deposit slip, which had a hard copy and carbon copy, and the money in a deposit bag and drop it at the bank in the night deposit. He made sure he picked up the bag the next day before anyone else could, even if he was off work. The bank kept the hard copy and the carbon copy was stamped by the bank, proving it went through and have that in the bank bag when he picked them up. Then, he’d simply put a carbon paper over the stamped receipt and turn that 1 into a 4 making it look like the bank stamped for $1,480. One of my duties was to check these receipts from the bank, making sure they matched what the paperwork said was deposited, and then I’d initial the receipt showing I seen it. When the bank statement came to the store he destroyed them. After the 2nd bank statement did not show up we quickly did an investigation and found out what happened. He had stolen over $4,000 and signed a letter stating he’d make monthly payments and in return would not be prosecuted. He was fired and I have no idea if he ever paid the money back or not.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Phink!

        Got it, sorry for the confusion!

        Employee theft is one of the worst things as a manager (of any kind). While people may picture thieves as “Beagle Boy” types with domino masks or striped shirts, they are often very normal seeming, and can even be people you like. They can be clever: theft is quite often not about the money. Since they are part of your team, it can feel like betrayal by a member of your family.

        One clue that I would have that employee theft was happening was that our inventory would drop. We always expected some shoplifting, but books were notoriously easy to steal and resell.

        However, we also had cash theft. One simple one that an employee did: they wrote up a charge, but never entered the sale. They would then have, say, a charge slip for $25…and they would put that in the till and take out the equivalent cash. The customer got the carbon from the charge (this was a long time ago), so they felt like they had a receipt. The drawer would balance at the end of the day…but that’s an example of something that would reduce the inventory (the cash register would only indicate one sale, but there were two of them).

        One place we worked, we had a Loss Prevention Officer who would come to town and do the four stories in my area. Someone almost always got fired (justifiably) for theft. Employee thieves who do it regularly get caught…that’s just the way it works. Someone might get away with stealing something once, but it would be very difficult to do over and over and again.

      • Phink Says:

        We had a problem with not registering sales as well. We had no cash register. We had door slips which had 10 order forms on each page. These are what you see on the front of a pizza box. Each page has 10 forms. The door slip pages are numbered at the bottom using something like 8 numbers or so. They are numerical. Either myself or the Area Supervisor always had to check to make sure there were no missing pages. If the pages skipped a number we knew one was missing. Managers were required to staple them in numerical order as part of their closing paperwork. Sometimes days shift managers or drivers never realized what those numbers meant or noticed them. Even if a page got wet or could not be used the store had to keep them and put them with the daily paperwork so we’d see they were not simply missing. We started checking because one day shift manager would simply write up a whole sheet of 10 orders, destroy the sheet, and split the money of those 10 orders between themselves and the day shift driver.

        Yes, I did feel betrayed so many times. People I never would have thought would take money took it. My current job has 120 employees and I told someone just a few months ago “Oh we have thieves all right. I’d almost guarantee it.” They did not believe me but I said “The sheer numbers almost guarantees it. We have an incredible crew but when you have 120 people anywhere there must be at least one or two thieves. There almost has to be unless we are the luckiest company to ever exist.”

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Phink!

        I get it. 🙂

        The idea of having to deal with “shrinkage”, which includes employee theft (the other two parts: damage and shoplifting, in a retail store) can surprise people. I had a friend of the family send someone to me who was considering opening a bookstore, so I could give them some real world mentoring. Well, after I talked to them, and I think particularly about the shrinkage part (that leads to the failure of some small businesses in the beginning, because people don’t budget for it), they changed their mind! I had done the right thing, but I still always felt a bit bad about it the world not getting another bookstore. I wasn’t trying to crush a dream, of course…I was trying to make a reality succeed.

        One story I really like about theft, and I don’t know if it’s actually true or an urban legend, goes something like this:

        An account in a big retail chain comes back to work after having been on vacation…

        Boss: “How was your trip?”
        Accountant: “It was great! I did have the opportunity to go into some of our stores, and I was really impressed. Store #17’s eight registers were really humming.”
        Boss: “Store #17 only has seven registers.”
        Accountant: “No, I’m sure there were eight. After all, counting things is something I’m pretty good at.”

        Well, it turned out that the manager had set up an eighth line for cash only. That eighth line had a cash register and issued receipts…but wasn’t connected to the inventory system. So, the manager just took home that money every night!

        In my store, that store would have been red flagged because of the loss of inventory, and the LPO (Loss Prevention Officer) would have easily caught that person in an audit.

      • Phink Says:

        A friend of mine went on to franchise and now has 3 stores and he said with the computers they have now there are all kinds of software built into their POS (point of sale, not that other meaning LOL) system that makes it much more difficult to steal now. We had zero computers in the store in the early 90’s when I left the company. We didn’t even have one in the office.

        Oh one more thing about theft. Franchise’s have been caught by corporate stealing from their own stores, most times by one store owner/operators. It is really rare but has happened. There are a few reasons to steal from a store you own 100%. One, it cheats corporate out of royalty’s. With sales royalty’s, national advertising royalty’s, and regional advertising royalty’s, it came to somewhere around 7-8% of sales. Two, it cheats the IRS since you pay taxes on your profits. If an owner steals $500 a week that’s $26K a year less profit plus $26,000 a year in income he’s not reporting.

        My favorite place to eat in the world, which I better not mention, got caught last year doing this. Two brothers owned a very large, very successful restaurant. This place had 200 customers at all times it seemed. The two owners were taking a lot of the cash sales, putting it in their pocket, and adjusting sales. A waitress contacted the IRS, or somebody and told what she had seen. They got in huge trouble and have done a plea deal. They have to make restitution with interest and they were fined $500,000 each and the business was fined $1,000,000 and they will find out if they get jail time in the near future. Not to mention the horrible press that has come from it.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Phink!

        I was in a franchise, not the bookstore, and it made quite a bit of money…for the franchisor, not the franchisee. 😉 We went through several owners. The franchisor got six percent of gross (not profit), as I recall, plus fees…and just buying into the franchise was $75,000 for each one. That’s my recollection…and no, I’m not naming which one it was. 😉

        I’ve heard that franchising really started with Romper Room. They didn’t want to sell the format to a network and lose control, but figured that local hosts could do it, paying them for the use of Mr. Do Bee. 🙂

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      Nothing wrong with waiting a few days to make a more mindful decision. When I didn’t have much money, I made myself leave a used bookstore for an hour before I bought it. If it was gone when I got back, I figured it was fate. 😉

      I consider this to be a new medium…like seeing a movie based on a book, or listening to a radio adaptation. Of course, it has much more overlap with reading the paper version than a movie, but it still is a different way to experience it.

  3. Phink Says:

    On 2nd thought why am I so sure the price will not go up? OK, I bought it. I got scared. If the price had gone to $14.99 I’d be kicking myself over that $5. Not really sure why a measly $5 would make me kick myself but I would. Considering I only have one leg it would not be easy to do but I’d give it a try.

    • Lady Galaxy Says:

      LOL! I have a feeling you and I both grew up in the days when the price of a book did keep going down, from hardcover full price to paperback price to remainder pile price. That doesn’t happen so much any more, especially with Kindle books.
      A few days ago one of the books on my “price drop” list at ERIQ went down to $11.99. I wasn’t sure why I got the notice because I had requested to be notified when it dropped to $9.99. Then I realized that it was not 1960 and $2 was no longer my entire weekly “allowance.” Paperback novels are no longer 99¢, TV Guide is no longer 15¢ and delivered to my front door my a neighborhood kid, and full sized candy bars are no longer a nickle. There’s probably not much I can buy for $2 in this century. So I bought it, and I’m enjoying reading it.

      • Phink Says:

        Yep Lady, I am used to things usually not going up in price, other than for inflation. You are right. That is not the case any longer.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Lady!

        I remember the poster, “Life is a gas…33 cents a gallon” and actually seeing it on sale for $0.25 a gallon. 🙂 As I was saying to Phink, I figure that things based on natural resources (that would include gas) tend to go up in price. Let’s see…if it was a quarter sixty years ago and it’s roughly three dollars now, that means…it went up on average about five cents a year (I think). It’s a bit less, of course. When you start at a quarter, that’s a big increase, percentage wise.

        My feeling is always that if something is a good deal, that if it’s worth it go for it and don’t worry that it might be a better (or worse) deal later. It doesn’t change the calculus of today’s deal.

        When I sold TV Guide in the store, it was sixty cents…now, it’s free online. 😉

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      Love your attitude! 🙂

      • Phink Says:

        Thanx for saying that Bufo. When I lost my leg at 37 because of a motorcycle wreck I never went through the depression stage. I decided quickly I had two choices. I could let it destroy me or I could look at the bright side of it. Almost everything has a bright side; even losing a leg. For one, I got to retire at 37 years old. My hip was too tore up to use a prosthetic leg really so I was truly stuck in a chair. Nobody would expect me to work full time ever again but I got board and work part time even to this day.

        I quite often list for people all the great things about losing a leg. I’ve even considered writing a book called: ‘Bipedals Suck: How I lost my leg without losing my mind’ but not sure I have the gift of writing. It would be a tongue in cheek read in part but to be taken seriously at the same time. Part comedy part serious.

        Some of the great things about my situation:
        No family member will ever ask me to help them move ever again. The next time you get involved in moving day you’ll wish you only had one leg. I get to park up front at retail stores and this is really great at Christmas time. I get far more back in SSI than I ever paid in. I can be a complete jerk to someone without fear of getting beat up. I mean you can’t beat up a guy in a wheelchair, even if he deserves it. I’ve got dozens but I’ll stop there. Oh this is huge. I mean huge. In Arkansas, and plenty of other states, if you are disabled your property tax on your home is frozen. They will never raise my property tax on my home because the value goes up. If mileage goes up then yes but my home, valued at close to $100K is taxed at $73,000. It should forever be frozen at that value in the eyes of the tax man. I should have had my leg whacked off years earlier.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Phink!

        Your lines are great, and I think there would be a value in them reaching a wider audience…they might help someone in a similar situation to smile about it, and perhaps just as importantly, enable people who know or encounter people like that to normalize them more.

        I can see a few approaches:

        * You could get a co-author and go for a traditional book
        * You could do a Twitter account. That’s not going to monetize well, but could reach people pretty quickly…it’s a crowded field, though
        * You could do a blog. That would be a good way to go if you are interested in improving your own writing skills. My blog’s entries are relatively long…you could just do a one-liner, and that would still work
        * You could find an illustrator, and do it as a cartoon book. That one is really intriguing to me, and could be the one that took off the best. You would write maybe 100 one or two liners, things like that, and someone would turn them into amusing cartoon panels. I could see that being bought by hospitals, clinics, public libraries, and schools, which gives you a market beyond individuals

        While I don’t have a lot of available time, I’d be happy to read something you’ve written and give you feedback on it. I’ve done that with a couple of people, and I think it has positively impacted the eventual work.

        All of this is totally up to you…just some ideas. 🙂

      • Phink Says:

        I love the illustration idea. That is great. My main reason for thinking about doing this was to help others cope with the same situation. Not only the victim of a tragedy such as losing a leg but their family as well.

        For 10 days or so I was so doped up at the hospital I was hallucinating wildly but most times my wife and family had no idea even when talking to me a lot of times. The hallucinations were as real to me as any real memory I’ve ever had. In 26 years of marriage (12 at that time) I have never yelled at my wife. I did while in the hospital because of a hallucination. She had no idea that hallucinations were the cause and it really upset her.

        Example. As part of my treatment the Med in Memphis put me on a roller coaster. Every corner, hill and turn, hurt so badly. I told Pam “this is stupid. I want to go home.” She replied “You have to stay so you can get better.” I told her “There is no way that this (the roller coaster) is helping me. That’s insane.” After a little I told her honestly that if she thought I was being helped by this treatment then she was completely nuts and I wanted a divorce. She left the room and I decided my wife had gone insane as well as the staff. How could this roller coaster possibly be helping me. I also thought though ‘yep, she’s nuts but I love her so I’ll endure this.’ Once when I was in New York City looking for Ricky and Lucy’s 1950’s apartment (everything as black and white) we had a conversation about me going to sleep. I thought I was walking the streets of NYC and there was nowhere to sleep. I can describe every detail of that neighborhood I visited in NYC in the 50’s. It was that real to me.

        One more thing interesting. Probably 95% of my dreams I have two legs and am walking normally. In almost all of the other 5% there is a problem with my wheelchair such as me being stuck at the top of stairs wondering how to get down. I’ve always wondered if people born unable to walk do so in most of their dreams or if it’s because I did once walk. I have no idea.

        Thanx for your thoughts and I think I’ll do an outline and jot some stuff down. Even if I can’t get it published or it does not sell on Kindle at least my kids and grand kids could read it someday. Thanx.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Phink!

        I wish you luck with the book: I do think it could be really good and help a lot of people.

        As to the roller coaster thing, I showed someone in our physical therapy department my “auggies” (VAM: Virtual/Augmented/Mixed/Merged reality headset), and that person thought right away it could be used for balance rehab. It didn’t take me much work at all to find a number of scholarly articles specifically on VR and balance rehab!

        As to the dreams…I’ve read some on people with vision issues and dreams. It seems to depend on when they became blind as to whether or not they dreamt with vision. Blind from birth people generally didn’t, and I think they had to be eight or nine (generally) before they commonly dreamt in vision. I would guess it is something similar for people who only have one leg, but I’m not sure.

        Hallucinations are fascinating…even people who know they are hallucinations can have trouble managing them. I was a lucid dreamer (I say was, because I decided some time ago not to recall my dreams, and I generally don’t…so I don’t know if I am or not any more), and I would guess that might be somewhat similar.

        “Unreal” things can be stronger memories than “real” things, since they were internally generated…meaning that you had access to every detail, which isn’t the case in normal memory.

      • Phink Says:

        I’m going to do some research on how the blind dream as well as the handicapped if I can find something. I might do a research paper just like when I was in college. I was probably the only student in most classes that actually enjoyed research papers. I’ll do a paper and use that info for the book. I’ve decided I’m doing it. I’m a realist so I’m doing it for my decedents and if more happens that’ll be great. if not that’ll be OK too. It won’t be a waste of time. I have come to realize that in the last few days.

        Thanx so much. Again, you have no idea how many you have influenced people in the last decade. I love the idea of influencing in a positive way and not even knowing it.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Phink!

        I think that’s the right attitude. 🙂

        If you prepared a proposal for a tradpub (a traditional publisher) they might connect you with an illustrator. Alternatively, you find one on your own and potentially self-publish. I like the latter idea, but they can both work.

  4. Tom S Says:

    Note that there have been ‘enhanced’ iBooks editions of the entire HP series for almost a couple of years. It looks like these are a little more sparing with illustrations and graphical flourishes than the KIM editions. But they need to add Whispersync for Voice support (to this and the regular editions) to provide the full sensory reading experience.

    I bought the ‘complete collection’ awhile back for $14.99 (it was a pricing glitch I think – it has been $60 since) so probably won’t be ‘investing’ in these new editions (assuming they continue with the entire series).

    And of course HP series (in several languages) is available in Kindle Unlimited. I was hoping this KIM edition would be as well (all of the other KIM editions are).

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Tom S!

      I could imagine there being technical or licensing issues with Pottermore books and Whispersync for Voice…that’s an odd situation.

      It’s also possible these HPKIMs will show up in KU eventually…there are KIM books there now.

  5. Tom S Says:

    As for the destruction of Terry Pratchett’s unfinished works, since it was his wish I fully support this. I assume he scripted the dramatic (and playful, it seems to me) steam-roller crushing. No mention is made of destruction of backup copies which surely existed (physical or in cloud). Would anyone complain if he also scripted an equally dramatic resurrection of the works at some point in the future?

    I did not understand your reference to ‘the government seizing the hard drive’ – no such implication in the reports I’ve seen.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Tom S!

      The suggestion I’ve seen is that these were the only copies…but that may be to just add to the drama, of course. 🙂

      My “government seizing” remark was to equate it to public domain (in which the government effectively “seizes” the rights to a book and gives them to the public after a certain period). Many people support that, on the basis either that the government granted rights which were not natural, or that the society at large contributed to the creation of the work and therefore has a right to it after the creator has had the opportunity to profit from it. That same logic to me would apply to the government seizing an author’s unpublished works to preserve them. No one suggested that, from what I saw, but it seems to me to be illustrative of the public domain concept.

  6. Lady Galaxy Says:

    Several of my family members are “operating engineers,” meaning they are licensed to operate heavy construction equipment. It’s one of the higher paying jobs in the construction industry. I’m wondering how much it cost to obtain the steam roller and hire the guy to crush the hard drive.
    Shortly before John D. MacDonald (author of the Travis McGee mystery series) died, he gave an interview to “Writers Digest” in which he talked about have several new Travis McGee novels in the “word processor.” We were just on the cusp of the computer revolution at the time.
    After he died, I kept hoping that those novels would make their way out of the word processor and into the printing press, but “The Lonely Silver Rain” was the end of the line. It’s always sad when a writer dies because all the characters die with him or her. Oh, I know, some franchises are kept going when new authors take over, but I don’t think anyone other than John D. MacDonald could keep Travis and the Busted Flush afloat!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      It’s a rare series that is bettered (or equaled) when a later author picks it up. I did really enjoy the Ruth Plumly Thompson Oz books…even more punny than L. Frank Baum. I would say Baum was harsher, but Thompson wasn’t pablum.

      As to the cost…I’m guessing it may not have to have been a union (or equivalent) member doing it, but perhaps. Funeral expenses can be very high, and I would guess this would not have been out of line with fancier funerals…

  7. Phink Says:

    I agree with this guy as much as I can considering I have never touched a KOBO. Here are my comments I left on the 4 minute video below.

    Yes I agree. I have never touched a KOBO but I’ve been wanting one for a couple of years now. Oh how many times I wished my hundreds of Kindle books would open on the KOBO without a very complicated work around. For one thing the Kindle font sizes are not enough. At night when I’m tired one font size is too small the next one up is too big. KOBO offers roughly 4 or 5 times as many font sizes as the Kindle. That’s just one of many examples. I’m so deep into the kindle ecosystem however it’s very difficult to switch. If I had it to do over I’d gone with KOBO to begin with.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      Depending on when you got your Kindle, it might not have been an option…and the content might have mattered later. 🙂

      Kobo has always seemed like they made good devices, and I’ve seen positive responses from users. It is that ecosystem that would matter, though, in my opinion…I just always hope Amazon will be inspired by Kobo (and they may be sometimes), but they still don’t have a water resistant model.

      • Phink Says:

        Bufo, the entire argument he and others make about KOBO being better at innovating than Amazon because they do one thing while Amazon has many things going on does not totally make sense to me. The reason it does not is because Amazon has the resources to allocate an entire team, building, and equipment to do nothing but innovate the e-reader if they chose to do so.

        It’s not like they have to say “OK, we need to pull 4 developers off the e-reader and put them on the Fire TV development team.” Now I am a layperson when it comes to developing new technology but with Amazon’s money it doesn’t make sense for anyone to have a better e-reader than Amazon. Some would argue the Kindle is much better than the KOBO but it sure is strange the KOBO will do so much the kindle will not do.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Phink!

        While Amazon does have to allocate resources, I would bet that they have more people working on EBR development than Kobo does. 🙂

        When you look at it, Amazon has to consider whether they need to have the “best” EBR. They have to look at customer satisfaction, and consider what it is worth to improve it. A Ford doesn’t have to be the best at everything to make sense for that company.

        My intuition is that we may see a 10th anniversary Kindle (or Kindles) around November 20th, maybe announced before that, but that’s just a guess. Maybe they still wouldn’t do a water resistant one, but I’m hoping. 🙂

Leave a Reply

