Books That Shaped America

Books That Shaped America

Thanks to my reader, Clint Bradford, who sent me a heads-up to this in a private e-mail.

The Library of Congress (LOC) has a list of “Books That Shaped America”:

http://www.loc.gov/today/pr/2012/12-123.html

It’s an interesting set. Naturally, I think most people reading will notice omissions, question some inclusions…and be introduced to some titles that are new to them.

I also know that there are people who will want to read the entire set. πŸ™‚

Clint “hinted” that I could make a list with links to the books in the Kindle store, and I’m going to do that. Some of these books will be free public domain titles, and available from other sources as well.

I do often get my free PD titles from Amazon, because I like their back-up of my notes and highlights, and syncing between devices.

Note that not all of these books are free: check the price before ordering.

The books are in alphabetical title order…and I do think that the phrase “shaped America” is interesting. They aren’t saying these are the best books, just ones that influenced our culture.

You can sort the books by author or year here:

http://www.loc.gov/bookfest/books-that-shaped-america/

If the book was only available in the Kindle store as audiobook (that’s a recorded performance…no text), I marked it as unavailable.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in theΒ I Love My Kindle blog.

5 Responses to “Books That Shaped America”

  1. Alicia Street (@AliciaStreet1) Says:

    Great list, Bufo!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Alicia!

      Well, I don’t get credit for creating it (that’s the Library of Congress) or even for finding it (that’s my reader, Clint Bradford).

      I did create the links, though. πŸ™‚

  2. Lady Galaxy Says:

    Thank you for taking the time to add the links, and thanks to Clint Bradford for pointing you in the general direction. I’ve read 48 of those books. I was even named after a minor character in one of them.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      Hm…I hadn’t looked at that. Let’s see…

      You have me beat. πŸ™‚ I’ve read about thirty of them.

  3. Louise Says:

    Thanks for pointing out this list for us. Some of my favorites are on here, but others I have never read. I think I’ve just planned my reading material for the next little bit.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.