6 free games (and 1 utility) for the Kindle Paperwhite

6 free games (and 1 utility) for the Kindle Paperwhite

There are lots of games and apps out there for the Kindle Fire line, but the RSKs (Reflective Screen Kindles…anything but a Fire at this point) also have them.

There are different versions for different models, which makes sense. You can’t have the same interface for a touchscreen device that you have for a keyboard device, for example.

I’ve reported from time to time on free games for older RSKs, but I hadn’t looked at the Kindle Paperwhite yet, so I thought I would.

There are six free games right now, and one utility (a practical “app”).

My Checklist

For comparison’s sake, there are twelve free games and apps for the Kindle Keyboard.

Grid Detective sounds like fun to me. I used to do puzzles like this…you are given a series of facts, and from that, you can deduce the answer to something. You know, “Ted is taller than Lu, who is shorter than Bob. Bob is not taller than Rose…” and so on.

I’ve tried Hamster Habitat on a different model…it was okay. Every Word has been very popular.

Obviously, if you mainly want to play games, a Fire gives you a lot more robust options, but you may find it fun to do something other than read on your Paperwhite as well. 🙂

Enjoy!

If you don’t have a Paperwhite, here’s a link to all of the

Kindle Active Content

You can click your model on your left of the screen. You can also check compatible models on the app/game’s Amazon product page.

If you have opinions about any of these, feel free to share them with me and my readers by commenting on this post.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

6 Responses to “6 free games (and 1 utility) for the Kindle Paperwhite”

  1. Katie Says:

    Grid Detective is a really fun game! I didn’t really like Hamster Habitat. The other games are fun, but Grid Detective is the best.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Katie!

      I’m glad you liked it. 🙂 There are quite a few games for the Paperwhite, and I’m glad you found one you really liked. 🙂

  2. Katie Says:

    Some free games I came across:
    Thread Wordds
    Sudoku Works

  3. Yvette Says:

    I just looked and although the games are free, there is a shipping cost of $4.49 each.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing!

      You are responding to something I wrote in 2012…things can certainly change in that amount of time! 🙂 However, the games I was listing were digital: there won’t be a shipping cost. It’s possible that there are also physical versions of those games, and in that case, there might be shipping for those versions.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.