Just in case…

Just in case…

I’m writing this one ahead, to post the day after I have a minor surgery.

There is always a risk when you have general anesthesia. Of course, there is always a risk when you walk across the street or drive to work. Every morning you wake up, there was a chance that you weren’t going to.

People have always found that a bit of an odd attitude on my part. They know I’m generally optimistic about the world, and I tend to think that people are usually good.

However, I also mentally prepare myself for the worst.

Every day, I think there is a chance I’ll be fired.

I have awakened on thousands of mornings, and checked first thing to see if the pets were still alive.

That might seem morbid. I’m not really expecting those things to happen. Logically, I know I’m a good employee. I understand the odds.

I think I’m just…rehearsing the situation, so I can respond to it in the best way possible.

In an emergency, I want to be the one who reacts logically, who gets the best outcome by not reacting out of blind fear.

I immunize my emotions against the disaster by exposing them bit by bit, while the threat isn’t real.

In this case, I wanted to write something to you, my readers, in case something goes wrong.

Don’t worry, this isn’t going to be all sad and sappy. πŸ™‚ Obviously, I’ve had an incredible time with you, and hope that continues for many years. I do think about Amazon ending the blog program in the Kindle store, or just kicking me out of it for some reason. There are all kinds of things that could happen, but nothing could negate the great things that have happened so far.

I thank you for that.

I thank you for disagreeing with me and showing me new perspectives. Every time I’ve gotten a respectfully written comment from someone who had a different opinion, I learned something and became a better person.

I thank you for thanking me. πŸ™‚ Kind words matter in the world, and yours have mattered in mine.

I thank you for accepting my quirkiness. For example, people have rarely pushed me for things I don’t choose to reveal. I don’t think that’s because I”m particularly boring. πŸ˜‰ I think most people naturally are curious about certain things about anyone they meet…not asking about them is a conscious courtesy.

I also wanted to talk a little bit about the books I own.

When I was a brick and mortar bookstore employee (I eventually became a manager), I was told we could take home paperbacks where the cover had been torn off to return to the publisher for credit (showing we hadn’t sold it). We couldn’t donate those “strips”, or sell them, or give them away…just own them and read them.

I have a lot of those. When I’m gone, my guess is that the ethical thing is to recycle them. That feels like the contractual thing to do. I hate seeing any book anywhere destroyed, but this wouldn’t be destroying the book…just a copy of it already accounted for as out of circulation. I don’t think any of those are going to be rare…they tended to be popular books. Those are the ones where you would have gotten more than you could sell. You wouldn’t have widely overestimated demand on an obscure first time novelist, for example.

I have a few real rarities that I’d like to see get into good hands. One is

The Lake Worth monster [of Greer Island, Ft. Worth, Texas]

That one is definitely in the category of ephemera…something people don’t expect to last. I guess I’d want to see if Loren Coleman wanted that copy for the museum. We’ve never met, but we’ve had some correspondence, and I’d be sure Loren would treat it with respect.

Ideally, of course, I’d like to see it digitized and made legally available to the public…along with every other book copy I own. That one may still be under copyright protection, but I want them preserved…I want everything and everybody preserved, if possible. πŸ™‚

Another one I have is the

Reference Guide to Fantastic Films: Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror

That one is the result of a truly geeky…er…academic…no, I’m going with “geeky” labor of love. I think my edition is rare, although it appears it may not be highly sought after.

Those are probably the two stand-outs, although I have a lot of other rarities.

People shouldn’t live forever, and I don’t expect to do that. I know that the odds are very, very high I’ll be around to write something on May 11th (although I may not feel much like doing it…this is ambulatory surgery, meaning that I don’t stay in the hospital, but I’m not supposed to drive for 24 hours…I don’t think that driving a keyboard counts, though). πŸ˜‰

Books, though, should live forever.

They should be here now and forever, and we should be able to reach into the past and retrieve them, and into the future and read books which haven’t been written yet.

Books are what we are as a species. They represent what we think and how we feel. They are the purest form of the formless. They take what separates us from simply mechanical flesh and blood and presents it to other people.

I’d much rather that a future alien race find our books than our bodies…that would tell them who we were, not just whatΒ we were.

I expect that you’ll hear from me again soon…that’s the logical expectation, and it’s certainly the bet I would place. If you don’t, let this be the last thing I say to you:

Thank you.

Update: I’m home recovering. πŸ™‚ Yes, those were the odds, and what I expected. I’m a bit frustrated by not being able to do my normal routine (no exercising today), but my Significant Other has been here supporting me, and it’s all good. πŸ™‚

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in theΒ I Love My Kindle blog.

23 Responses to “Just in case…”

  1. Carol Vlasz Says:

    Wishing you well !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Nancy Says:

    Hey Bufo,
    I’m fairly sure you will do fine with your same day surgery. I get the whole idea of “not knowing.” I’ve held lots of hands; comforted lots of patients and their families also. I’ve even prayed with pts, and with doctors for pts. I’m a nurse that works in the operating room in a hospital. And I also work in an ambulatory surgery center.
    So with this note to you I am sending you well wishes and a speedy recovery!
    I look forward to your frequent updates
    And can’t wait for future updates. And for that, Bufo, Thank you!
    Fondly,
    Nancy

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Nancy!

      In my “day job”, I work with medical providers and staff (training them). I shadowed a general surgeon for a day once (being in the OR…Operating Room). It was funny when the charge nurse asked me after about the third procedure “You’re okay with nudity and blood, right?” Fortunately, I was. πŸ™‚

      I’ve also worked in an ambulatory surgery center.

      I greatly admire the work you do! It’s not easy, and I appreciate your good wishes.

  3. cardinalrobbins Says:

    Hi, Bufo —

    Just wanted to wish you well. Surgery is always a little tough on the nerves, especially when you have general anesthesia. I’m thinking good thoughts and hopefully by the time you read this, you’re on the mend.

    I understand your mindset. I used to be an EMT and also worked emergency medical rescue, as well as worked emergencies for the Red Cross in my area. And did a LOT of EMS & CPR training. First responders always look at the “what if…” of any possible situation in advance, so we can respond calmly and competently. You and I have that mindset in common, I can tell by your post.

    It’s always good to be prepared, because you’re usually surprised by how well everything turns out simply because of that preparedness. πŸ™‚

    Wishing you a very speedy recovery and looking forward to many, MANY more of your blog entries!

    Best Regards,
    — Cardinal

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Cardinal!

      Yes, I do think we have that in common. πŸ™‚ The original story of “Murphy’s Law” (at least the way I’ve heard it), is very different from how most people use it.

      Most people say that Murphy’s Law is, “If anything can go wrong, it will.” They use that just to shrug off some failure that happened.

      As I understand it (and I haven’t definitively researched it), Murphy was a real person who worked at the White Sands Missile base. The actual law was, “If anything can go wrong, it will…so fix it now.” It’s that last part people don’t want to do…if there’s only a 1% chance of failure, they are okay with that. Murphy was saying that you have to make it a zero percent chance (or as close as you can possibly get).

      It’s an argument to be proactive, not an excuse. πŸ™‚

      My virtual hat is off to you for your work as a first responder! That’s not something everybody can do, and you are truly one of the heroes of the world.

  4. Western Reader Says:

    I hope you are feeling a whole lot better than yesterday! I send best wishes for a complete recovery and better days ahead, Bufo.

    Your comments about “keeper” books struck a chord with me. I have some paperbacks I just can’t part with (and I’ve been trying to downsize in recent months): John D. MacDonald’s “The Girl, The Gold Watch & Everything” – 1962 (hilarious and much better than the crappy film they made out of it); Taylor Caldwell’s “The Devil’s Advocate” – 1952 (I re-read this about every five years or so … it never has gone out of sync with current times); and two “Pogo” paperbacks by Walt Kelly – 1952 and 1954. These will be in my estate and my kids can decide what to do with them.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Western!

      With the rarities, I feel somewhat like a “keeper of antiquities”…especially for those that would be considered ephemera. I probably couldn’t ten dollars at a used bookstore for them, and I could sell them online, but they might vanish into a home and never be seen again. It’s funny that I feel personally responsible to protect them…arguably, there are other places that could do it better. However, I do…and taking on that role does make me feel good. πŸ™‚

  5. oldiesuz Says:

    Hope you’re back to 100% soon Bufo. Your wonderful blog has become a must read for me and many others. You make a positive difference in the world.

    Bless,

    Suz

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, oldiesuz!

      Thanks for the kind words! I’m not quite 100% today, but I’m doing pretty well. πŸ™‚

      While you can make a negative by yourself, a positive difference requires partners…and you and the other readers are mine. πŸ™‚

  6. tellthetruth1 Says:

    You’ll be back Bufo. You Love Your Kindle. Right? We all need to hear more about that πŸ˜‰ I visit hospital patients and it’s a thrill to be with them each Sunday. As for living forever, well, being a Christian, I take the biblical approach to that one! As for you, good luck with the surgery, and thank YOU for taking the time to write and tell us. πŸ™‚

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, tellthetruth1!

      Gee, you make me feel like The Terminator. πŸ˜‰ Actually, I most associate Arnold’s “I’ll be back” line with The Running Man (based on a Stephen King novel, although it was published under a pen name.

  7. Karin Says:

    Wishing you a speedy recovery!

  8. Jennifer J. Martin (Gran Jen) Says:

    Get better soon, your blog is a high point in the day for a lot of us, I’m like you, expect the best, but prepare for the worst.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Gran Jen!

      Well, I’ve always figured that if you expect the worst, the worst you can feel about what happens is smug satisfaction that you were right. πŸ˜‰ Ideally, you are pleasantly surprised…

  9. Joe Bowers Says:

    Hi, Bufo,
    Get well soon.
    I think my attitude re: expecting the worst is kind of weird. It’s based on my terrible track record at anticipating or “predicting” outcomes, so I figure, if I “predict” the worst outcome, there’s just no way it will happen! I am sometimes so clueless.
    I haven’t had anesthesia since my tonsils were removed, more years ago than I would care to figure…

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Joe!

      It’s going well. πŸ™‚ I like your idea of predicting the worst because you are likely to be wrong. πŸ™‚ I remember an interesting experiment that suggested that skeptics were doing much worse than chance when doing a “prediction test”…perhaps because they were “psychically” trying to get the wrong answer to disprove that the right answer could be gotten. πŸ˜‰

  10. janeshepardI@bellsouth.net Says:

    Glad you are ok. I know how hard it is to give up books. But think how much joy they would give our military overseas. Maybe we could donate to help pay for shipping or the USO. Just sayin

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Jane!

      I’m not planning to get rid of any books at this point. πŸ™‚ If you are talking about the “stripped” books, the ones without covers, my understanding is that it would be against the contractual agreement to donate them to anybody. We weren’t allowed to donate books we didn’t sell from the bookstore. The process was that we would notify the publisher of a candidate recipient, and they would donate books…allowing them to get the tax write-off and good PR, of course.

  11. Jean Says:

    Hi Bufo! Hope that all went well with your surgery, and that you will remain with us for a good while longer. Yours are often the most interesting emails I receive, and this one was especially poignant to me, since I also often “practice” my reactions to unpleasant possibilities , especially aboard an airplane!
    Take care, and come back to the keyboard when you are ready!
    Jean

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Jean!

      My mind is often racing through all the possibilities. πŸ™‚ I don’t think I do that particularly much on an airplane, though…I do love to fly!

      That does remind me of an anecdote. I have a parent who was a military pilot. We were flying on a commercial jet, just as passengers. We noticed on take off that they didn’t raise the landing gear (that’s the big thump you hear on the way up…I believe it’s the doors closing. We thought that was a bit odd. The Captain announced that the brakes had locked on take-off, and they were cooling them off by leaving them exposed.

      My parent and I started to discuss the possibilities about what would happen if they locked on landing. “We would probably just blow tires.” “Well, if it’s only on one side, we might spin…”

      The flight attendant came by and quietly asked to stop discussing it…because we were scaring the other passengers. πŸ™‚

  12. rogerknights Says:

    “I have a few real rarities that I’d like to see get into good hands. One is The Lake Worth monster [of Greer Island, Ft. Worth, Texas]”

    I have that one too (signed by the author–altho she probably signed all her copies). I also have a few rarer Bigfoot items of which fewer than a dozen copies were printed.

    RE: EMTs & Bigfoot: A well-known Bigfooter, Bob Strain (aka “RB”), wrote approximately: “After I retired from being an LA paramedic, I thought I had seen everything. Then I got into Bigfooting.”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.