Top 10 blogs in the USA Kindle store

Top 10 blogs in the USA Kindle store

I last reported on the top ten blogs in the USA Kindle store in July of last year…and I’m a bit surprised at how much they are the same as they were.

I suppose it shouldn’t surprise me too much…I don’t think this is particularly a dynamic and growing part of the Kindle store.

For me personally, it’s a very important part of my life! I’m thankful for my subscribers (thanks, subscribers!) every day. I (or I should say, “we”, since you are part of what makes this possible) have been doing ILMK for over five years now, and it is certainly my biggest creative focus.

I can’t say, though, that it is much of Amazon’s marketing or technical focus. You still can’t subscribe to blogs directly through Amazon on their tablets (or phone, for that matter)…and I don’t think there is any particular technical reason why they couldn’t do that.

I think strategically, they may just figure that blogs are a low profit item for them..but come on, when has Amazon ever cared about profit?😉

It makes me wonder how much the EBR (E-Book Reader) market is growing, in terms of new people entering it. How many people are buying their very first EBRs?

My guess is that we bloggers in the Kindle store are largely coasting on the people who have already subscribed.

The new Kindle device product pages don’t even mentions blogs.

I’m not complaining about any of this.🙂 I really enjoy writing this blog, and I enjoy the communication I get with readers out of it. I do feel like I’m often helping people, and that’s the best feeling for me.

Well, let’s take a look at the list:

1. (last time: #1) Free Kindle Books and Tips (at AmazonSmile*)
by Michael Gallagher
4.4 out of 5 stars, 161 customer reviews

2. (last time: #2) The New York Times – Latest News (at AmazonSmile*)
3.3 stars, 121 reviews

3. (last time: #3) Free books OnKindle — bestsellers, top movers, new (at AmazonSmile*)
2.6 stars, 20 reviews

4. (last time: #5): Huffington Post (at AmazonSmile*)
2.9 stars, 36 reviews

5. (last time: #4): Free books for Kindle at AmazonSmile*
3.5 stars, 29 reviews

6. (last time: #8): National Review Online: Articles (at AmazonSmile*)
4.2 stars, 13 reviews

7. (last time: #6): Kindle Nation Daily (at AmazonSmile*)
by Stephen Windwalker
3.6 stars, 41 reviews

8. (new to the top ten) Free Kindle Games (at AmazonSmile*)
by Wendy Boswell
1.9 stars, 39 reviews

9. (last time: #7) I Love My Kindle (at AmazonSmile*)
by Bufo Calvin (that’s me, folks)
4.5 stars, 39 reviews

10. (new to the top ten): National Catholic Register: News & Blogs Feed (at AmazonSmile*)
4.1 stars, ten reviews

As you can see, the top three are unchanged, in terms of title or rank. Only two out of the ten are new to the top ten. There has been a bit of shuffling, but it’s really much of a muchness.

I’m very proud to have the highest star-rating out of these bestsellers! I know I don’t please everybody every day, but I think there are a couple of strengths.

One is the amount of output, honestly.🙂 I told myself that I’d average a 1,000 words a day in this blog, and I do that. I think that people appreciate the sheer volume.🙂

Also, I really strive to keep it eclectic…to cover different types of things. I want it to be that at least every few days, you feel like you are getting your money’s worth (if you are a subscriber…your time’s worth for everybody else). I can’t always avoid it, but I try not to write the same sort of thing two days in a row.

For example, I know some people don’t like the “mathy” posts. I know others don’t like the humor posts. Still others aren’t really interested in reading about devices other than the EBRs (the non-Fire Kindles).

Hopefully, what happens is that somebody might see one that is “meh” to them, and the next day or the day after, see something that they particularly like.

I’m pretty confident those aren’t the only two reasons, but I do think they are something which sets this blog apart from a lot of the other excellent blogs out there.

Well, there’s the list! I’ll probably check in on this in another year or so…

As always, I’m interested in what you think. Are you reading blogs on your EBR as much as you used to do? Why do you think there are some blogs in the top ten which are so poorly reviewed? Before blogs, did you read fanzines? I know, not quite the same thing, but I think there is a line of evolution there. Feel free to tell me and my readers by commenting on this post.

Update: I also noticed something interesting when looking at the blogs. Amazon has a listing for hot new blogs…and erotica certainly seems to be a significant part of that. I’m warning you ahead of time: the listing contains images that are NSFW (Not Safe for Work), featuring nudity.

Hot New Releases in Kindle Blogs NSFW (at AmazonSmile*)

One of these blogs’ images (without nudity, but with what would certainly have been considered a  risqué  shot at one time) appeared on the blog store homepage.

Amazon runs into people concerned about that from time to time. There are some pretty explicit images that can appear when you are shopping at Amazon. There used to be a way to turn off images entirely when using Google, which was a sort of workaround, but I’m sure that is still available…and it doesn’t stop explicit text, of course.

Join hundreds of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

15 Responses to “Top 10 blogs in the USA Kindle store”

  1. Robert Anderson Says:

    NYT would be bigger/better if Kindle Fire line was supported.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Bob!

      I believe that’s true. I also think that’s true of many other blogs.🙂 If the NYT blog in the top ten was compatible with the tablets, I think it would sell a lot more. I also think that would tend to raise the sales of other popular Kindle store blogs.

  2. Karin Says:

    I still read the same blogs everyday. In fact I still look forward to them (yours included).

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Karin!

      Thanks! I think of the various habits people can have, reading new things every day may be one of the most brain healthy.🙂

  3. jjhitt Says:

    “More Popular Than The National Catholic Register”. — That would make for an interesting tagline.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, jjhitt!
      🙂 I don’t think I’d use that one…I remember what happened when John Lennon made a comparison between the Beatles’ popularity and another’s popularity…

  4. Harold Delk Says:

    Well, well … there you are stuck between the gamers and the Catholics … and more highly ranked than either. I only read a few blogs; yours being one of two I read daily. The other is a dog travel related one run by good friends of mine; “Take Paws” over at gopetfriendly.com. I no longer read the NYT blog since I now subscribe to the NYT online.

    I love your blog and read it with an eye to tips, product news, humor, and read it all except the monthly breakdown of sales which I avoid totally as have no interest in such. Keep’em coming … and thank you for all you do to support the Kindle community.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Harold!

      I appreciate the kind words…and telling me what you like and don’t like. That really helps!

      Might take a look at Take Paws…we are considering a trip with our dogs.🙂

      • Harold Delk Says:

        I suggest strongly that you check out the blog before you embark with the dogs. You’ll find that Rod and Amy have quite a good blog, a travel planner, and lots of advice as well. They are an interesting couple; tax accountants who “dropped out” of the corporate rat race and became full-time RVers and bloggers. Rod still does some consulting, but Amy is full time blogging. They do answer their email and have quite a large following in the traveling pet community and beyond. I’ve done one guest blog for their site on a pet safety device we use to protect Maddie. Jackie, my wife (who retires this week … yippee; no more magazine deadlines), and I met them years ago at an RV show when we were all looking at the same demo RV before any of us knew anything about them. We sat in the darned thing for over an hour chatting about their plans and ours and have been friends ever since. A couple of years ago we all converged in Las Cruces, NM at the same RV park without prior planning. Enough already: you will enjoy the blog and learn from it. If you do stop by tell them I sent you; they’ll like that.

  5. Lady Galaxy Says:

    At the risk of being too “prolific,” I’m going to come out of lurkdom to comment on this post. I recently had major problems with all my blogs not downloading. I ended up unsubscribing to all 6 of them for awhile. Unfortunately, when problems with blogs arise, Amazon seems not to know what to do about it, so they refer you to the folks publishing the blogs, who refer you back to Amazon who refers you back to… The first blog I attempted to subscribe to was this one. When that was successful, I resubscribed to the NY Times blog. Since I had already gotten accustomed to checking the other ones online, I didn’t bother to resubscribe to those. And yes, I continue to check this one online, but I resubscribed out of loyalty and because it’s more than worth the 99¢.

    Lurking back into the shadows—————->

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      You can’t be too prolific for me! I’m so glad you commented…I was getting worried that something had happened to you (that happens with people we know on the internet, sometimes). Your intellect and commitment to what you believe is right are two of the best things about this blog for me.

      I know I might not have gotten you a really satisfactory answer on your blog problem, and I apologize for that…couldn’t get much back from my contacts at Amazon, unfortunately.

      I truly appreciate your loyalty and support, and I know there may be good reasons sometimes to be a shadow dweller. You have no obligation to comment, of course, but I hope to hear from you again when you are ready.

      Best wishes…

      • Lady Galaxy Says:

        I didn’t mean to imply that I was upset with you because you couldn’t solve the blog problem. It seems nobody can. It’s just Catch-22 when blogs go kablooey! Or perhaps sunspots? Hamsters?

        When restarting the Kindle doesn’t work, the only other solution I’ve ever found is to unsubscribe, wait a week or so, and then resubscribe. I eventually discovered that a lot of folks were having problems with the NY Times blog not updating at the time I started having problems. It coincided with a brief change in the format for the NY Times blog in which they decided to give only headlines and a one or two line summary of articles instead of the full articles. There was a flurry of negative reviews, and then suddenly it went back to the way it was originally with no explanation that I ever found.

      • Bufo Calvin Says:

        Thanks for writing, Lady!

        Spotted hamsters, perhaps?😉

        Whew! I don’t like to offend or fail, but realistically, I know I shall do both from time to time.

        I don’t know how much attention Amazon devotes to getting blogs to work right technically…not much, I would guess, compared to other types of content.

  6. D. knight Says:

    Bufo,

    Have you sent a blog update out since Dec 1st? The reason I ask is I subscribe, but that is the last blog update that I have.

    Thanks!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, D.!

      Thanks to your heads-up, I checked on our Kindle Paperwhite 2: nope, the last one appearing there is for December 1st. I have been following the normal process I do, and have had posts since then.

      I’ve alerted Amazon: Thanks!

Leave a Reply

