Flash! Make a simple mistake, B&N keeps your NOOK

Flash! Make a simple mistake, B&N keeps your NOOK

I think the NOOK (sic) is a good device.  I have a very techie coworker who is happy with a NOOK, and I’m sure many people are.  I like the idea of the  LendMe feature, although I don’t think I would use it much (multiple device licenses cover my needs pretty well).

I think B&N has been doing some good things with the device.

However, when I see people asking which one to get, I do cite the superior (in my opinion) Kindle Customer Service.

I’ve gotten great response from KCS, generally.  I’ve only had to deal with B&N CS a few times…and it hasn’t been satisfactory, honestly.

That’s just one person’s experience, though…I prefer looking at something less subjective.

One way you can do that is with the companies’ respective published policies.

For example, there is the ability to “return” an e-book.  Sometimes, you get a book that is poorly formatted, and you want your money back.

Amazon allows returns of Kindle store books within seven days of purchase for a refund:

“Any content you purchase for Kindle from the Amazon Kindle store is eligible for return and refund if we receive your request within 7 days of the date of purchase.”

Amazon Help page

You can actually even do that if you just don’t like the book.  If you abused the return privilege, that could be a problem, but if you do it every once in a while, that’s fine.

Barnes & Noble says:

“We are unable to accept returns for eBooks, magazines, downloadable PDFs for SparkNotes and Quamut products, gift cards, and shrink-wrapped items that have been opened. Please note: Once purchased, eBooks cannot be refunded.”

Barnes & Noble Help page

That makes a difference to me, and I’ve known about that one for a while (and written about it previously).

I was confirming that…things change.  When I was, I saw this one, which really shocks me.  I’m a former retailer, and this just seems bizarre.

At the top of the Returning Items Bought from Barnes & Noble.com section, there is an address.  Many people are just going to see that address, and send a NOOK back to it.  You get 14 days to try a NOOK…you get thirty for a Kindle.

Here’s the strange part, though:

“Please note: if you do not call for a return authorization number and send the nook to the wrong return center, no refund will be provided and your nook will not be returned to you.”

That’s right.  If you happen to return the NOOK to the wrong address (an easy mistake to make, in my opinion) at Barnes & Noble, they just keep it. 

How hard would it be for them to let the other return center know?  Okay, maybe they charge you five bucks to send it over there.  Nope.  They just keep your  $199 (or $149 for wi-fi only) device, and don’t credit you anything for it.

That seems crazy to me.  I mean, if you accidentally returned your NOOK to a Home Depot, I figure they would call you and let you know you sent it to the wrong place. 

Remember, on the Barnes & Noble thing, it’s the same company.  It’s just a different address.  Not only does it seem like common courtesy, it seems like good business sense.  Why say, “Finders keepers, ha ha!” to somebody you presumably want to buy things from you in the future?

I’m trying to come up with some rational reason for this…different parts of the company managing different resources?  Robots handling the returns? I don’t know, I just can’t see where it’s a wise customer service policy.

So, I do think there is a Customer Service difference between the two companies, and you can decide how much that matters to you in choosing which device to buy.

Oh, and I do think it’s worth noting that there are those rumors of a B&N sale (of the whole company).  The NOOK part of the business is likely to continue and to be supported…even if it gets spun-off or separated from the brick and mortar stores somehow.

The NOOK does play chess, though!  🙂

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

8 Responses to “Flash! Make a simple mistake, B&N keeps your NOOK”

  1. Andrea Says:

    Wow. That’s pretty amazing…make a mistake and the keep your hardware?? Good CS, that doesn’t feel like they are fighting against you, always makes such a good difference in a customer experience. You are right, it is something Amazon does really well.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Andrea!

      I agree. 🙂 It was a radical idea when Toys R Us decided to accept returns without receipts. The argument was that, if someone argued enough, you were going to give them the refund anyway…and you would still have lost that customer. They did have to track “frequent flyers” and such, but that made a lot of sense. When I ran a bookstore, if it was a book we carried and it was in sellable condition, we took the return (for exchange) without a receipt. People appreciated that. 🙂

  2. Wanda Alsup Says:

    I have a Kindle DX & love it. Amazon web site is easy to use. Barnes & Noble had a free book I wanted to read that was not free on Amazon. So I downloaded Barnes & Noble ‘PC’ program to my computer. The B&N web site is not user friendly. The Kindle for PC works better also. Just my opinion & I am certain someone will disagree.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Wanda!

      Yes, I had to call B&N once with a problem, and the basic response was, “Oh, well.” I’m a big person on Customer Service. My Significant Other laughed at me, but we were going through a Nordstrom once. I did what I often do…count the number of times I hear employees complaining. It doesn’t have to be about the workplace, by the way. Your clerks shouldn’t be complaining about their personal relationships in front of customers, either. Despite their reputation for good customer service, I think I got to something like seventeen…just in going from one side of the store to the other (through a few floors). If the prices are the same, and the convenience is the same, and eventually, the selection will be similar (it’s not now), Customer Service will be the deciding factor. I choose to support some stores now that charge me more…but I like the store better. 🙂

  3. Richard Askenase Says:

    To my mind, the only reason to buy a nook over a kindle is if library loans are ABSOLUTELY CRITICAL. In other words, if you really expect more than half your reading to be from library loans of ebooks. And, I rarely expect that to be the case (at least for some years) as the overdrive program is still quite small and most local libraries have minimal ebooks to loan. For everything else, (like book selection) and CUSTOMER SERVICE, the Kindle clearly is better.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing again, Richard!

      If a person only reads the contemporary bestsellers and has been using the library to get them, the NOOK becomes more attractive, absolutely. That’s never been my book-buying pattern, but I assume there are people out there for whom it is.

  4. Lesley O'Neil Says:

    Was catching up on your blog, Bufo, and just read the bit about B&N keeping the nook if it was accidentally returned to the wrong location. Wow! That is one of the most unbelievable things I think I’ve ever heard of; talk about having to read the fine print! Customer disservice.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lesley!

      Yes, I’m still shaking my head over that one. Customer Service was definitely something I sought to provide when I managed a bookstore. I can’t imagine saying to someone who came into the store, “Well, you shouldn’t have handed your return to that clerk, you should have brought it to the counter. So, Bob over there ((Hi, Bob!)) is going to keep your book…and you don’t get a refund.” It just seems so bizarre.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.