The “down-grading” of American reading?

The “down-grading” of American reading?

Are Americans’ reading tastes trending towards simpler books?

Does that include school reading assignments replacing more complex books with ones that are more accessible?

According to this

NPR article

referencing research from
Renaissance Learning

both assertions are true.

The

Full Report (pdf)

substantiates what might seem like depressing statistics. For example:

“…the complexity of assigned texts has sharply declined, from about [grade] 9.0 in the early 20th century to just over 6.0 in the early 21st century. This finding echoes other studies that have concerned policy makers about whether students are presented with sufficiently challenging material to help them prepare for college and career.”

I think, like most serious readers, my immediate, emotional, gut reaction to that is that it’s a bad thing and a depressing indicator.

However, as my more rational (and contrary) mind kicks into analysis mode, I wonder if that’s really the case.

Let’s accept as a postulate that the bestsellers tend to be at a lower grade level now than they were fifty years ago, and that teachers are assigning books that are at a lower grade level than they used to do.

The first question: is the grade-level assessment process a reasonable one? Is it providing an appropriate measurement?

You can do grade-level assessment analysis on anything you want. Microsoft Word will do it for you. I used to teach people that, when writing for the general public, go for fifth-grade level. That was my sense of what would reach the most people. Now, it is different if you are trying to influence a specific group of peers (coworkers, for example) where credibility can be more important than comprehensibility. When I train trainers about credibility, one thing I’ve said (in a light way): “When in doubt, use big words.” 😉 That tends to make it seem like you know more than the other person…that isn’t when you are explaining how to do something, but why you would do it.

Interesting, word length is one of the things that Word uses to determine grade level. Word Help says

“Flesch-Kincaid Grade Level test

This test rates text on a U.S. school grade level. For example, a score of 8.0 means that an eighth grader can understand the document. For most documents, aim for a score of approximately 7.0 to 8.0.

The formula for the Flesch-Kincaid Grade Level score is:

(.39 x ASL) + (11.8 x ASW) – 15.59

where:

ASL = average sentence length (the number of words divided by the number of sentences)

ASW = average number of syllables per word (the number of syllables divided by the number of words)”

More syllables and longer sentences are judged to be at a higher grade level.

For example, this sentence

“The quick red fox jumped over the lazy brown dog.”

is assessed at grade level 2.4.

Changing it to this:

“The rapidly moving scarlet fox jumped over the unmotivated brown canine.”

ups it to grade level 11.2.

Looking at that, though, which one seems like the better sentence to you?

I think that’s important, here: I’m not sure that a higher grade-level work means inherently better writing.

Mark Twain’s writing will tend to be assessed at a lower grade-level than Oscar Wilde’s…does that mean it is less desirable for students?

However, I do think there is a real value in understanding the more complex words and sentence structures. It’s like doing exercise…people like their athletic challenges to be difficult. They want to up the speed on the treadmill, do more repetitions, throw farther…they want to approach and then extend their limits, even though they don’t always need to perform at that peak.

Perhaps it’s like designing a city. You want to make the walkways as accessible, as easy to use, as possible. That may be what’s happening with reading. On the other hand, your city may have a skatepark for those athletes…and making things more difficult there is better.

Gee, did I just make reading geeks like me cool like Tony Hawk? 😉

Why would this have changed over time, though? Why would there have been harder books assigned decades ago?

There may be several reasons involved in that.

One is that many more people are going to school (especially higher grades) than did a hundred years ago. I’m not suggesting that there is a difference in capability, but there may be a difference in situation. It could be that people who went to high school in the 1910s (and the Renaissance Learning data goes back beyond that) were people who were going to be able to concentrate on reading, even outside of class. Would I have been as much of a reader in elementary school if I was also spending several hours a day in a field doing manual labor? If I’m being honest, I’d have to say no.

So, high schoolers today may have less experience, less practice, reading than high schoolers a hundred years ago.

Let’s move away from the school for a minute.

What about popular books having become simpler, if we accept that as a postulate?

Reading holds a different place for us than it used to do. Simpler books may be better suited to being part of a multimedia experiential mix which wasn’t available even fifty years ago. It might be simpler to switch in and out of The Hunger Games than it is War and Peace. If we do more activities for shorter sessions (instead of reading a book for three hours straight, we read two books, a magazine, a news site, e-mail, tweets, listen to music, watch video…all in that three hours), that might impact our preferences.

It’s also, perhaps, a sign that more people are reading. We are seeing the sales of books go up, from what I’ve seen. Maybe what is happening is that there are more people reading as part of what they do in their lives. So, you get less experienced readers (who therefore want simpler, more familiar material…I’ve read a lot of 19th Century stuff, so the vocabulary has become relatively easy for me…the first time you read Sherlock Holmes, it can be tough), who don’t read as much as the “serious readers”, but read more than they used to read, impacting the bestseller list.

One of the interesting things in the Renaissance Learning study was that popular culture drives reading. If a movie comes out, based on a book, sales of that book go up considerably. How many people will read The Great Gatsby this year who wouldn’t have considered it last year?

That may be increasing the overall amount of reading…even if the works chosen are not always particularly complex. I wouldn’t look for a Gravity’s Rainbow blockbuster any time soon. 😉 Higher grade-level books may be inherently more difficult to adapt to visual media…which would mean they wouldn’t get that readership boost.

I guess I’m a reading athlete: I like complex works. I also do like simple ones, no question…and I think it’s a good thing that (as I believe) more people are reading books. Perhaps assigning simpler books is actually a sign of a democratization of literature.

What do you think? Did you stomach fall when you read the beginning of this story? If people really aren’t going on to more and more difficult books in the way that they used to do, is that a sign of cultural decay? Do you find yourself reading more “popcorn” books than you used to do? Feel free to tell me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

6 Responses to “The “down-grading” of American reading?”

  1. Edward Boyhan Says:

    My stomach didn’t fall — you more or less confirmed what I already knew.

    I have a friend who teaches high school English down here in Florida. Except for those in Advanced Placement English classes, they no longer use literature of any kind to teach reading — instead they use “informational texts”. You mean like computer manuals, I asked her? Exactly, she replied. This is motivated by a lot of factors: reading skills tuned to the needs of future employers, teaching to standardized test requirements, and using reading materials not deemed to favor any one socio-economic group, or belief system over another.

    I don’t know what the long term implications of this vis a vis reading in general might be, but Florida schools have seemed to be improving modestly year over year — at least as measured by standardized tests, and despite quite a bit of pushback from parents in some school districts around the state.

    I think focusing on outcomes is a good idea — I’m just not sure what those outcomes should be, or what the appropriate metrics ought to be.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Edward!

      Moving schools to a larger percentage of narrative non-fiction (and away from fiction) is an important part of the Common Core:

      Is non-fiction more important than fiction for students?

      I’m not sure how much that plays into the idea of reduced complexity, though. Life, it would appear, is inherently more complex than fiction. 😉

      It will take some time before the impact of choices like this will be measurable (it takes a while for teachers to adjust), but I echo your concern about what the appropriate outcomes should be. As somebody who has taught project management, that’s always a concern for me.

      When I would talk to my students (adults) who would design databases, I always said that you designed the database from reports backwards. First, get the “client” (and that might be you) to tell you what they want the end result to be, and then build the database to produce that. When somebody would ask me about, say, Access, “What can it do?” I’d reply, “I’m not going to tell you that. It can do a whole a lot of things that you don’t want or need it to do, and we’d be here all week with me explaining it. Let’s figure out what you want it to do, and I’ll get it to do that.”

      In any project, defining the desired outcome (“How will we know if we succeeded?”) is the most important…and perhaps, most difficult…step.

  2. Friday Reads: “The ‘down-grading’ of American Reading?” by Bufo Calvin | Critical Margins Says:

    […] at I Love My Kindle, Bufo Calvin has a fascinating analysis of a recent study that shows American students are reading simpler books. Here’s an excerpt […]

  3. Bailey Says:

    Having spent a couple hours now browsing through related articles (thank you, pingback) I have learned some interesting things:

    1. The company doing the survey is also the producer of the AR (Accelerated Reading) Program, and thus has a vested interest that people be concerned about reading levels. More concern = people buy their program.

    2. Many teachers, librarians and parents (according to aforementioned blog posts/comments) think its, well, nonsense.

    3. Tying into the previous one, they cited many “classic” and popular books and their level. Around the World in 80 Days? 4.3 The Help? 4.4 The Stand? 5.7 Night? 4.8 There was even a .5 difference between the British and American versions of the first Harry Potter. And yet the Series of Unfortunate Events are all in the 7 range. (I will concede, however, that Don Quixote deserves his 13.2)

    4. …a lot of schools seem to be going crazy while following grade level. A lot of parent comments were frustration about their child not being allowed to read above/below grade level without a teacher’s permission, and being left out of things if they didn’t meet goals – even if the books at their reading level didn’t interest them.

    Not sure what’s the point of learning all this, but I hope you find it interesting!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Bailey!

      Ah, yes…the vested interest. 😉 I was familiar with them selling their program, and you are correct that it is in their interest to by “worry stirrers”. 🙂

      As to your third point, if they are using Flesch-Kincaid, it could yield different results, due to more syllables in the slang…although have a grade seems like a lot, since there aren’t that many difference. For one small example, though, “Sorceror’s Stone” has four syllables, “Philosopher’s Stone” has five…which would make it more difficult, according to that scale.

  4. tellthetruth1 Says:

    I have to say I love reading your blogs. It’s great to be able to interact with someone who knows what he’s talking about. Also, your questions pose thoughtfulness.

    Just thought I’d tell you! 🙂

    Since I’ve had my Kindles, I’ve bought and read many books. A few months ago, while compiling one of my radio programmes, I did a bit of research on the Cornish dialect and ended up getting a book of poems written in that style.

    I love a good story, I love biographies/autobiographies. I’ve got books on nature and a fantastic weather book describing clouds and various types of weather. And I wouldn’t be without my Bible and various Christian works, So a bit of an all-rounder, I suppose. Best thing my Dad ever did for me was teaching me to read. I’ve been a bookworm ever since.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.