Audible ate my Amazon password!

Audible ate my Amazon password!

Wow, I am mad about this one!

I wanted to look at the new download from Audible thing.

I tried to log into Audible…I assumed I had a separate Audible password at some point (I’ve looked at it before).

I couldn’t put in a password that worked…so I asked for a password reset.

It reset my Amazon password!

I’ve had that Amazon password for many, many years!  I like that Amazon password!  I can’t have it back (the system won’t let you pick one you picked before, and the rules for passwords have changed)!

The Audible site did not tell me it would reset my Amazon password!

I will be letting Amazon know about this!  I would certainly not have intentionally changed the Amazon password…I’ll admit to a certain nostalgic attachment to it.  I know it’s safer to change your password periodically, but Amazon would not have made me do that (it would have been my choice) if I hadn’t gone to Audible.

Audible is owned by Amazon (has been for about three years, I think), so there should be a BIG GIANT WARNING that if you change your Audible password, it will change your Amazon password.

I’d love Amazon to give me my old password back, but I don’t think they can or will…they’ll be sympathetic, I’m sure, but my old password doesn’t fit the new rules.

This is a stupid, emotional response, I know…but I’m going to go pout.  🙂

UPDATE: Okay, now this is getting serious!

My Amazon Associates password didn’t work…so I entered the new one I created for Amazon.com.  Rather, I tried to do that…but it appears to be too long!  Sigh…I’ll have to work on that.  My emotional reaction to it isn’t Amazon’s fault, but this is certainly not user-friendly.

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.

4 Responses to “Audible ate my Amazon password!”

  1. Dave Says:

    Just wanted to say that I feel your pain. I’ve been an Amazon customer since nearly day 1 and I’ve got an old school 4 digit password that I wear with a badge of honor. Sure, it’s not all that secure, but it’s geeky-cool! Sorry for your loss.

    • bufocalvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Dave!

      I figured somebody would get it. 🙂 I’m over it now…I don’t stay upset for long, usually, especially when it isn’t really logical.

      I did write to them, though, and suggest they make it more obvious.

  2. ano ny mous Says:

    They have not. Just went through something similar with an old ipod that had audible and did not want to log on. I opted for the “forgot password” option, but when I looked at my email it showed one from amazon saying that an attempt to register a device failed or some crap along those lines to enter a temporary code…(seemed phishy). So on my computer I just followed the “Audible” password reset and put in a new password that would work with the requirements. Lo and behold I wanted to look at my amazon account to see if they somehow had any type of record about the register issue and they needed my password to verify the authenticity, but when I entered the usual suspect it didn’t work, and then proceeded to try other password options, and it somehow went through with the one I just put for audible. Seemed odd because I did not want to change my amazon password but, and they did have a message that said the same thing about the registering. I really put me off as well that they would do that without spelling it out. I tried everything before i tried “resetting” the password which they don’t tell you is what you will have to do if you forget it. If you opt for the “forgot password” the only option they give you is to enter your email, which many cases can just be for confirmation purposes rather than strictly resetting… -_-

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, ano!

      Well, it surprises me a bit that almost five years after I wrote that post, Amazon hasn’t made it clearer. Shows you what little influence I have with them, contrary to what some people think. 😉 I’m sorry that happened to you, and I really appreciate you posting it here.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.