Amazon: “Deregistering the Kindle will remove all content from the device”
This is hopefully an error on the
It says something which didn’t used to be true in the past, and would be a big change if it is true now.
It says specifically:
“Deregistering the Kindle will remove all content from the device.
The first paragraph is new…I thought at first it was contradicted by the second paragraph, but it really isn’t.
Not too long ago, I wrote about people getting a message that their content would be deleted on a Kindle app in this earlier post.
If what this help page says is true, it ends the register/deregister dance (r/dd). It means you can’t download books on to a child’s Kindle, deregister it so they can’t access the Whispernet, and register it again when you want to add more books.
It means that if you lost your Collections, deregistered and reregistered to bring them back, you’d have to redownload all of your books.
I’ve just recently sent Amazon a couple of questions, and they don’t like it when I send too many too quickly.
I don’t want to test this myself on the Kindle I have with me…I have personal documents on it, and while I would assume those wouldn’t be wiped, I’d have a real problem if they were.
That means I’m not testing this right now.
If any of you have experienced this (where you deregistered and the books deleted from your Kindle) or have other comments, I’d love to know.
I hope this is a mistake…but it may not be.
Update: I’ll back up my Kindle and test this later today.
Update: Okay, I’ve tested it. Either the Help page is a mistake, or it’s just early in some way.
I backed up Orac (my current Kindle). I deregistered it. No change on what was on it. I restarted Orac: the same. No titles were removed (Kindle store or otherwise).
One interesting thing: it didn’t forget my wi-fi network. That makes sense: I didn’t do a factory reset, just a restart.
We’ll see if they announce a change soon, but for now, the r/dd still works, for those of you who do it.
One other thing I hadn’t noticed before. When I went to
“This device and any content purchased in the Kindle Store are registered to the Amazon user shown below.
Registered User: Bufo Calvin”
I don’t think that was there before.
Update: Amazon has updated the language, so it does say it works the way people think that it works:
“…once the Kindle is deregistered, any books, subscriptions, or other content you’ve purchased from the Kindle Store will no longer be delivered to the device.”
This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog.