Forgot your Kindle Passcode? Here’s what you can do

Forgot your Kindle Passcode? Here’s what you can do

Eventually, we won’t have to use passwords/passcodes/passphrases.

Microsoft is promising that now with Windows 10 (I’m still waiting for my computer to update to it, but it should happen soon).

My Lenovo decided (on its own) to start using facial recognition to log me into the laptop. I’m not creeped out by facial recognition generally, but it should have asked me first, I think. 🙂

It’s certainly imperfect. Very often, it’s too dark for it to recognize me. I’ve mentioned before that I have superior night vision (I think that may be connected to my color vision deficiency). It may be that I just tend to keep the room unusually dark, but it’s still inconvenient. I can go back to entering a passcode, but I have to cancel the FR first.

That said, though, existing Kindle EBRs  (E-Book Readers) don’t have the capability for that. They also can’t hear you, so recognition by voice isn’t going to happen either. I doubt they have sophisticated enough position recognition to let you wave them around in a pattern to log in (which is another option).

So, the option at this point is to enter a passcode.

I should explain one thing: a password consists of just letters. A passcode can have letters and numbers. Most people just use “password” generically, but you know, I’m a geek. 🙂 I like to mention these things.

The passcode is there to protect your content and access to your account. You should not be able to just bypass it…so if you forget your passcode, the option Amazon gives you will wipe your content off your device, and make you prove again that you should have access to the account.

That makes for a simple bottom line: don’t forget your passcode. 🙂 Some people write them down or print them out and store them at a bank in a safe deposit box (really). One nice thing is that they can then leave access to the safe deposit box in the event of their deaths (or, conceivably, incapacitation). Whether that’s okay with your account or not (sharing your passcode), well, that can vary. It’s okay with Amazon that more than one person on your account has your passcode.

What does happen if you forget?

Oh, one thing: Amazon does not have your passcode and can’t give it to you. That’s my understanding: the device passcode is only stored locally (in other words, it isn’t on Amazon’s servers…just on your device). I don’t know for sure that’s true…but I do know Amazon can’t/won’t give it to you.

For all of the current Kindle EBRs (Voyage, Paperwhite 3, ((and the Paperwhite 2)), and the 7th Generation entry level (the “Mindle Touch”), the process is the same:

Where you would put in your passcode, you enter

111222777

and then tap OK.

You’ll have to redownload your Kindle store content…after you re-register your device (and you’ll need wi-fi for that).

Interestingly, with the current Fire Tablets, you can reset your password without losing your content!

Manage Your Kindle (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

Here’s Amazon’s instructions on it:

  1. On your computer or mobile device, go to Manage Your Content and Devices, and then select Your Devices.
  2. From the list of devices registered to your Amazon account, select your Fire Tablet.
  3. Select the Device Actions drop-down menu, and then select Remote Lock.
  4. Enter and then confirm a new password or PIN, and then select Lock Device.
  5. From your Fire Tablet, tap Unlock Device.
  6. Swipe in from the right edge of the screen to unlock your device. Enter your lock screen password or PIN, and then tap OK.

Why is that safe?

You need to be able to log into the account to access that page…so you still need a passcode.

That is such an improvement that I can only hope that they can do something similar with the EBRs in the future!

Going back to earlier models, the technique changes. For example, on the Kindle Keyboard (AKA Kindle 3), you enter “resetmykindle” rather than the number sequence above.

If you have questions about a specific model, feel free to ask. 🙂

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

*When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.