ILMK’s WordPress stats for 2015

ILMK’s WordPress stats for 2015

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2015 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

The Louvre Museum has 8.5 million visitors per year. This blog was viewed about 460,000 times in 2015. If it were an exhibit at the Louvre Museum, it would take about 20 days for that many people to see it.

Click here to see the complete report.

===

That’s what WordPress prepared. 🙂 I want to call attention to a few things myself.

First, I thank each and every one of you who read this blog! I’d do it individually, but it might take a while. 😉

The more people who read it, the more people I help, and that’s really the thing in the world that makes me feel the best.

I also specifically thank the subscribers through the Kindle store!

I Love My Kindle blog (automatically on your Kindle!) (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

While feelings are important, I also need to be able to justify to myself the time and energy I spend on the blog…and the subscribers are a very big part of that.

I also want to thank everybody who commented!

I always want to improve myself, and intelligent, empathetic, and respectful disagreements are one of the things which can most contribute to personal growth. I’ve learned a lot…both about the world and myself.

These were my top five commenters, according to the report:

  1. Lady Galaxy
  2. Edward Boyhan
  3. Phink
  4. Tom Semple
  5. Harold Delk

Their criterion is just the number of comments, but I consider them extraordinary in several dimensions. 🙂

The stat that blows my mind every year is the cosmopolitan nature of the blog…readers in 217 countries this year!

The United Nations has 193 member states. 🙂

Here are those countries:

Country Views
United States 297966
United Kingdom 60755
Australia 10815
Canada 10573
India 9914
Germany 4538
Ireland 3762
Singapore 3338
Spain 3017
France 2556
New Zealand 2442
Italy 2305
Brazil 2242
South Africa 2223
Poland 2104
Japan 1634
Hong Kong SAR China 1603
Philippines 1544
Mexico 1522
Netherlands 1304
Romania 1197
Israel 1103
Switzerland 1084
Turkey 1038
Hungary 971
Argentina 937
Czech Republic 933
Norway 927
Russia 855
Sweden 828
Vietnam 827
Thailand 794
South Korea 782
United Arab Emirates 750
Malaysia 718
Austria 702
Belgium 655
Bulgaria 636
Denmark 633
Indonesia 616
European Union 613
Taiwan 560
Ukraine 559
Pakistan 558
Slovakia 556
Portugal 513
Chile 492
Greece 469
Colombia 403
Saudi Arabia 386
Finland 383
El Salvador 354
Trinidad & Tobago 339
Croatia 330
Lithuania 267
Serbia 265
Egypt 265
Puerto Rico 261
Slovenia 260
Bangladesh 229
Peru 223
Jamaica 213
China 204
Costa Rica 196
Sri Lanka 193
Kenya 192
Dominican Republic 188
Nigeria 186
Venezuela 173
Nepal 165
Malta 163
Ecuador 161
Qatar 156
Bahamas 155
Guatemala 151
Belarus 146
Cyprus 136
Estonia 135
Barbados 132
Iceland 127
Luxembourg 119
Tanzania 117
Uruguay 116
Bahrain 115
Panama 114
Georgia 113
Lebanon 109
Latvia 108
Kuwait 106
Jersey 105
Morocco 104
Albania 98
Guernsey 95
Jordan 91
Isle of Man 88
Cambodia 87
Kazakhstan 80
Ghana 75
Bosnia & Herzegovina 75
Armenia 75
Mongolia 73
Oman 73
Uganda 71
Myanmar (Burma) 68
Ethiopia 65
Bolivia 63
Zimbabwe 62
Brunei 62
Moldova 59
Maldives 58
Honduras 57
Algeria 55
Guyana 54
Azerbaijan 54
Belize 52
Guam 51
Bermuda 48
Mauritius 48
Nicaragua 43
Gibraltar 43
Iraq 42
Antigua & Barbuda 41
Macau SAR China 40
Haiti 39
St. Lucia 39
Macedonia 37
Cayman Islands 35
Paraguay 33
Aruba 33
U.S. Virgin Islands 32
Montenegro 31
Zambia 31
Namibia 29
Tunisia 28
Kyrgyzstan 23
Rwanda 23
St. Kitts & Nevis 23
Botswana 23
Réunion 21
Suriname 21
Grenada 20
Turks & Caicos Islands 19
Curaçao 19
Afghanistan 18
Senegal 18
Mozambique 18
Laos 17
Malawi 16
St. Vincent & Grenadines 16
Sudan 15
British Virgin Islands 15
Fiji 13
Palestinian Territories 12
Dominica 12
Uzbekistan 11
Bhutan 10
Papua New Guinea 9
Angola 9
Monaco 9
Samoa 9
Cuba 9
Northern Mariana Islands 8
Libya 8
Guadeloupe 8
Cameroon 8
Madagascar 8
Seychelles 7
Vanuatu 7
Cape Verde 7
Djibouti 7
Burkina Faso 7
Sint Maarten 7
Côte d’Ivoire 6
Somalia 6
American Samoa 6
New Caledonia 6
Benin 6
Sierra Leone 6
Falkland Islands 5
Swaziland 5
Burundi 5
Mali 4
Martinique 4
Chad 4
Andorra 4
South Sudan 4
Liberia 4
Guinea 3
Congo – Kinshasa 3
St. Martin 3
Anguilla 3
Niger 3
Mauritania 3
Faroe Islands 3
Congo – Brazzaville 2
French Polynesia 2
Solomon Islands 2
Iran 2
Micronesia 2
Marshall Islands 2
Tajikistan 2
Syria 2
Gambia 2
Gabon 1
Togo 1
St. Helena 1
French Guiana 1
Vatican City 1
Yemen 1
Greenland 1
Timor-Leste 1
Eritrea 1
Caribbean Netherlands 1
Cook Islands 1
Liechtenstein 1
Mayotte 1

I’m always impressed with the number of views in countries which don’t have the legal sale of Kindles and Kindle content. I wonder how much of it is from people who are traveling there, and how much of it is from people who live there who are just interested in the topic. I assume some people find it by mistake 🙂 but there are hundreds of views in some “Kindle free zones”. Honestly, of course, some people may also have the devices or content outside of their government’s policies.

The five most popular posts have a lot of overlap with last year, which doesn’t surprise me much. You can see last year’s here:

ILMK’s WordPress stats for 2014

Some posts are of more lasting interest than others,  because of the nature of the topic (people will, unfortunately, probably always lose or have stolen their devices).

The top five most viewed ILMK posts for 2015 were:

  1. The reading experience: Paperwhite vs. Kindle Fire HDX (from 2014) (#2 last year)
  2. Which Kindle do you have? (from 2011) (not in the top 5 last year)
  3. Got a new Kindle? Here’s the most important thing to know (from 2011) (#1 last year)
  4. You can now reset your Kindle password yourself (from 2011) (#3 last year)
  5. What to do if your Kindle is lost or stolen (from 2009) (not in the top 5 last year)

The “Reading Experience” post is impressive: clearly, that’s an important question for people still.

I’ll also say, it wouldn’t bother me at all if Amazon took note of these stats, and looked at revising their own Help Pages on the topics…

Finally, I want to note that the number of views was up by about 30,000…we can call that about an increase of about 14%! That’s not bad for a six-year old blog. 😉 Looking at the posts, I do see I made fewer of them this year…I didn’t average quite a post a day (I had 335). It’s been a busy year for a lot of reasons, but I’ll try to step it up again in 2016 (although some of you may feel you get quite enough the way it is) 😉 . I should hit my 3,000 post for the lifetime of the blog in January.

Once again, thanks to all of you for a wonderful 2015, and I’m looking forward to continuing the ILMK journey with you in 2016!

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

 

8 Responses to “ILMK’s WordPress stats for 2015”

  1. Phink Says:

    I can’t believe I was #3. Well, I have always been told I’m as windy as a preacher on Sunday. The first day I met my wife back in 1990 I talked and talked and talked. We were working together. Finally I said “Don’t you ever say anything?” She replied “Don’t you ever shut up.” My wife quite often has to endure the conversation with a stranger anytime we go to the store. Yep, I yap too much sometimes.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Phink!

      And I mean that…thanks for writing! 🙂 I don’t think you’ve written too much here…I’ve enjoyed them!

      I know I’ve said it on the blog before, but I have kidded people that I was once treated for a sunburned tongue. I often bring it up with classes. For example, when I am encouraging questions: “For me, questions are the fun part. You’ve probably noticed: I like to talk. But not even I would lecture in an empty room for eight hours…after two or three hours, I’d get bored.” 😉

  2. Lady Galaxy Says:

    In real life, folks tell me I’m too quiet. I hope I’m not too much of a “motor keyboard” online.

    It was fascinating to see all those countries represented as readers of ILMK. Some I’ve never heave heard of. The world map surely has changed since I took geography way back in 7th grade!

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      I don’t know where else you comment, but you haven’t been typing too much here!

      Yes, those countries are interesting! I don’t know how WordPress defines them…maybe URL extensions?

      Just remember…”It’s Istanbul, not Constantinople…” 😉 Okay, that’s a city, not a country, but I do like the song (available in Prime, or at least it was).

  3. Harold Delk Says:

    Well golly, Bufo, can’t believe I’m number 5 commenter as I’ve tried to be a bit quieter this year. Based upon a slightly wacky sort of interpolation from “Their criterion is just the number of comments, but I consider them extraordinary in several dimensions” I’ve concluded that I’m the Fifth Dimension. Both Doctor Who and Mr. Murakami would be proud; the musical group not so much so.

    I’ve enjoyed and learned from you and from the commenters as well for yet another year and be assured I’ll be sticking around in the future. This has been a great year in EBR and Fire for innovation and improvements and with Alexa joining the mix more every day I predict 2016 will be another breakout tech year. Early indicators leading up to CES lead with the Echo having lots of competition since it is an open system and we’ll see a myriad of new devices and services being connected to the world of voice control. Now that we can listen to Kindle and Audible books via Alexa we may expect a further blending of the services and an increase in the meshing from our online libraries without having to resort to Bluetooth for Kindle books. I currently listen to books both ways as well as read on my Paperwhite; the synchronization is mostly seamless. Both Audible and TTS have improved considerably. I know your preference is TTS, but I enjoy them both as they both have their advantages and disadvantages to me. I don’t mind the actors interpretations as much as I dislike the computer generated voice … and it has gotten very much better in the past year. I reckon I’ll always like plays over monologues. To each his or her own.

    Thank you, Bufo, for all you do for our ever-growing community and thank you to the contributors to the discussions as well. All of you make all of us better informed and enlightened readers. May your New Year be fifth dimensional.

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Harold!

      I’m happy to hear I can look forward to more from you in the future!

      “There is a fifth dimension, beyond that which is known to man…”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.