Top 10 Political Crime Fiction Thrillers by Kris Calvin (in The Strand Magazine)

Top 10 Political Crime Fiction Thrillers by Kris Calvin (in The Strand Magazine)

Some of you may be familiar with The Strand Magazine, which published many of the original Sherlock Holmes stories by Arthur Conan Doyle (starting for them with A Scandal in Bohemia in 1891). I have a connection with them, since I republish the public domain Sherlock Holmes stories (including ones originally published in The Strand) in my blog

221B Blog Street

I also have a connection with

Kris Calvin

first time novelist author of

One Murder More (at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*)

In that case, the connection (well, one of them, anyway) is a genetic one: we are siblings. 😉

One Murder More is a mystery which stars a Sacramento lobbyist, and politics is definitely a main theme.

Like most good authors, Kris reads…a lot. I was proud (not that I get to take any responsibility for it) 😉 to see

Top 10 Political Crime Fiction Thrillers by Kris Calvin

in The Strand’s online version.

While unabashedly subjective (as lists like this generally are), I think it’s an interesting set of choices. I don’t want to take away from you reading it, but I suspect that you’ll agree with the inclusion of at least some of these titles. I was happy to see

Lud-in-the-Mist (at AmazonSmile*) (available through  Kindle Unlimited(at AmazonSmile: benefit a non-profit of your choice by shopping*))

by Hope Mirrless included, since it is undeniably geek-friendly (I’m a proud geek)…and that would often make many people exclude it.

There have been lots of science fiction and fantasy books which focus on politics, and could be called political thrillers.

One of the first ones that comes to mind is Isaac Asimov’s Foundation series…but certainly 1984 and Animal Farm qualify, as would The Hunger Games (and many dystopias). Even my beloved Oz series has very clear political plots, including a women’s rights revolution that overthrows the Scarecrow as ruler of the Emerald City.

What do you think? What are your favorite political thrillers? What makes for a good one? Would you include Game of Thrones?  Tarzan (there is a battle for power to lead the Mangani, the “apes” who raise Tarzan)? Feel free to tell me and my readers what you think by commenting on this post.

Join thousands of readers and try the free ILMK magazine at Flipboard!

* I am linking to the same thing at the regular Amazon site, and at AmazonSmile. When you shop at AmazonSmile, half a percent of your purchase price on eligible items goes to a non-profit you choose. It will feel just like shopping at Amazon: you’ll be using your same account. The one thing for you that is different is that you pick a non-profit the first time you go (which you can change whenever you want)…and the good feeling you’ll get. :) Shop ’til you help! :) 

This post by Bufo Calvin originally appeared in the I Love My Kindle blog. To support this or other blogs/organizations, buy  Amazon Gift Cards from a link on the site, then use those to buy your items. There will be no cost to you, and a benefit to them.

2 Responses to “Top 10 Political Crime Fiction Thrillers by Kris Calvin (in The Strand Magazine)”

  1. Lady Galaxy Says:

    May one name a series of books as a favorite? If so, I’ll go for Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan series. Out of that series, I suppose “Clear and Present Danger” might most closely fit the definition as set by your sibling. It starts out with dead bodies, but it grows way beyond a simple “who done it.” As usual, I thought the book was much better than the movie. But I do like Harrison Ford as Jack Ryan or Indian Jones or Han Solo or President Marshall or standing on an empty stage reading the NYC phone book or
    :::::::::::::thwap:::::::::::::
    Sorry, I got distracted. What was I saying?

    • Bufo Calvin Says:

      Thanks for writing, Lady!

      🙂

      I thought Harrison Ford was best recently in 42, although I haven’t seen some of the actor’s other recent movies. I must say, I think what Ford’s been doing in conjunction with The Force Awakens has also shown that old verve! I include the Comic-Con panel. 🙂

      I’ve actually never read Tom Clancy…but I was fascinated success of the first book, and how it got published.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.